Thankful Every Day

image

While many people talk about giving thanks on this day, I give thanks every single day for the numerous blessings in my life. I’m thankful for my daughters, my family, my friends, my pets and so much more. Every day I wake up is a new opportunity to enjoy life and make the most of it.

Last year during this holiday I was volunteering at The National Day of Mourning in Plymouth, MA and it felt so fulfilling being part of something so much bigger than myself. I helped with the meal preparation for the event and matched through the streets of Plymouth as part of the rally and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I hope to be out there again next Thanksgiving and every other Thanksgiving I can.

Today I had the girls for the day and we had the usual turkey meal at my mom’s. It was just the four of us and while I helped make the sides, my mom cooked and sliced the turkey. I’m so proud of my mom for carving the turkey this year as it and preparing most of the meal was my dad’s thing. We all still miss him immensely but today we showed him that he taught us well. The meal today was a way of honoring his memory while being with family.

Following the meal at my mom’s and just relaxing for a while, I took the girls back to their dad’s house until this Saturday when I get them back. I always miss them when I don’t have them but it won’t be too long before I have them again. Once home, I tended to the needs of my cats and dog and played some Warcraft.

As I write this on my phone I’m snuggling on the couch with Daisy and Jazzmin while watching Working Girl on Netflix. I’ve seen the movie tons of times but it’s one of those movies I never get tired of. Plus, it’s about a tough, single chick who plays by her own rules and works her way cleverly to the top. Seems like the perfect end to another day that I’m eternally thankful for.
image

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

