Not the vacation we planned – Part 2

View from BCH by JulieAnn Corbin

View from Jaycie’s hospital room at Boston Children’s Hospital

Upon learning that Jaycie would need to be transported via ambulance to Boston Children’s Hospital from Beverly Hospital, the steel reinforcements around my emotions began to crumble. Whenever Jordan and I were at the hospital, I would help Jaycie with whatever she needed.  This included helping her use the bathroom, cleaning her up, making sure she drank water, keeping her warm with sheets or blankets, switching DVDs, brushing her hair, asking for and giving her pain meds (she was in pain but dislikes medicine so she’d never ask) and so on. I’m her mother and it’s what I do and I knew the nurses deserved a break and were busy with other patients.

I’d stayed strong, calm and caring throughout the entire experience because I knew I had to be a rock for my girls, but it was an exhausting experience overall and took its toll. Learning that Jaycie needed more care than Beverly Hospital could provide weakened my walls temporarily. I had to go into the hospital room’s bathroom to cry for a bit because it was becoming too overwhelming. When I called my ex-husband/the girls’ father to tell him about Jaycie being moved, I started crying when I was leaving the message. I really wish I hadn’t done that because he’s the last person I want to appear “weak” to, but I couldn’t help it.

I managed to suck it up and compose myself by the time Jaycie was taken to the ambulance by the friendly ambulance drivers. She seemed unconcerned by the whole thing as I think by that point, she was too exhausted to care or really know what was going on. Jordan and I said goodbye to Jaycie and then went out to my car to find the best route to Boston Children’s Hospital. The ambulance drivers reassured us that we didn’t need to follow right behind them, in fact they encouraged us not to and as they’d be dealing with heavy traffic into Boston, so we didn’t need to rush too much. As it was after dinner and neither of us had eaten since lunch, I drove to the closest Dunkin Donuts for some food. Jordan ate her donut in the restaurant but I took my bagel sandwich to go since I wanted to get on the road to the hospital.

I’m going to dedicate an entire separate blog post or two to my oldest daughter Jordan because she was such an immense help and amazing co-pilot throughout the entire situation with Jaycie. An example of this was how she broke off and handed me pieces of the bagel sandwich as I drove into Boston. The bagel was hard to tear up so I’d get pieces of just bagel, or bagel and cheese or some bacon and at one point, just a chunk of egg. Even so, I got food in my while managing to navigate and that would have been much harder without Jordan’s help! Jordan really is a wonderful 14 year old young woman and although I’m her mother and I’m biased, I think anyone that meets her would agree.

When Jordan and I arrived at Boston Children’s Hospital, we managed to find the correct parking garage and park in the first empty spot I found. We then crossed the street to the hospital and discovered that the entrance was under construction so we had to walk a rather long way around to get to the doors. We got the appropriate temporary badges, found the Emergency Room entrance and were taken immediately back to Jaycie who lay waiting in one of the Emergency area rooms. Although the room was small, it had a door that closed and helped keep the noise out. Jaycie was happy to see us and seemed tired but otherwise the same as she had been.

A couple doctors and nurses came to speak to us once we arrived and explained the situation and I was immediately reassured and calmed by their obvious understanding and knowledge of her condition. They were extremely friendly and willing to answer questions and I realized that we were exactly where we were meant to be. Shortly after we arrived, Jaycie being Jaycie asked if I could turn the TV on. As the TV was hung directly on the wall above where we were sitting, I hadn’t even known it was there, but Jaycie certainly didn’t miss it! I found the remote, turned the TV on and found Disney for her and then Jaycie was content to watch TV until her room upstairs was ready.

I believe we sat in the Emergency Room for around an hour or less before they came to take Jaycie upstairs to her room. It was after 10pm by that point. We were all tired but my girls were troopers and I was back to being a rock so we were hanging in there. A very friendly male nurse came to wheel Jaycie upstairs and I was surprised to learn we were on the 10th floor in one of the new wings called 10 Northwest. We went down so many hallways I was certain I’d get lost trying to navigate, but fortunately Jordan has a better sense of direction than I do.

When we reached Jaycie’s private room, I was surprised to find that it was bigger than my living room! Mind you, my house is rather small, but I didn’t know that private hospital rooms that large even existed. She had a TV, mini fridge, table with a couple chairs and a sofa bed by the window with a rather nice view of the city. The flat screen TV was huge and of course Jaycie wanted it turned on almost immediately. The evening nurse came and spoke to us for a bit and reassured us that Jaycie would be fine overnight when I told her we’d be going back to the hotel to sleep. Jaycie seemed as happy as she could be considering the discomfort she was in and she even smiled a little while watching TV. Confident that Jaycie would fall asleep soon and that the nurses would take great care of her, Jordan and I left her for the night.

To be continued…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Not the vacation we planned – Part 2

Say something!

