Daughter, friend and amazing young woman

image

My oldest daughter, Jordan, turned 14 today and for whatever reason, 14 feels years older than 13. This September she’ll be going into 9th grade, high school, and although she hasn’t said it, I think she’s nervous about that.

When I gave birth to Jordan 14 years ago, I was blessed to become a mother for the first time and feel all the love that comes with such a role. Jordan has been changing my life in positive ways ever since.

I’m not sure how I became the mother of a young woman as I still feel like a teenager myself most days, but Jordan has surpassed everything I’d accomplished when I was her age. She has a creative spirit, kind heart, good soul and determination to do wonderful things for the world.

Jordan inherited my love of reading and writing but she’s taken it to another level. She’s often reading more than one book at a time and that’s something I can’t do without becoming confused. As her big birthday present this year, I bought and built her a bookshelf for her bedroom and she was so happy to see it! She’s filled almost two whole shelves with her books already and I added two more books to her collection as the rest of my gift to her.

Among the books she’s been reading lately is the first book I wrote in my fantasy series. I wrote it long before she was born and haven’t reread it in many years so I’ve been learning a lot as she’s reading it. The fact that she not only finds it readable but is truly enjoying the story fills me with happiness and hope that I may still be published someday. She’s already pointed out things I need to fix and made me rethink some of my chapters and I am so grateful for her help!

Jordan and I are two sides of the same coin and have been since the day she was born. We have great conversations and are friends along with being mother and daughter. We challenge each other’s thinking sometimes, bounce ideas off each other and yes, we butt heads sometimes because we’re so similar. Nonetheless, she is an amazing 14 year old young woman and I’m grateful and bewildered every day that such a daughter calls me Mom.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

