Priceless Gifts and Purple Hair

My daughters and I in Boston, 2014

My daughters and I in Boston, 2014

Today is my 39th birthday and I can honestly say that I’m not the same woman I was a year ago. That’s okay though because life is about change and it’s important that I continue to grow as a person and learn new lessons every day. Like the Phoenix I have a tattoo of on my left upper arm, I always rise from the ashes of any adversity that tries to drag me down.

Enough of the heavy stuff though, today is a happy day! It’s my weekend with my daughters and I’ll be picking them up this morning for a day of fun and adventures. My oldest daughter asked me a while ago what I wanted for my birthday and I couldn’t come up with anything that can be bought because I already have every gift I could ever want. My greatest and most priceless gifts are my two daughters and I have a loving family, good friends, loyal pets, my health, a career as a writer and my very own house. There’s nothing anyone could wrap and give to me that would mean more to me than what I already have.

While my younger daughter Jaycie stays with my mom’s to play with the myriad of toys there, Jordan and I will be heading to the theater to see X-Men Apocalypse, a movie I can honestly say I’ve been waiting over 20 years for. Why? Because it has Psylocke in it! Psylocke has been one of my favorite X-Men since way back when she was just a demure purple-haired telekinetic who’s powers manifested as purple butterfly wings on her face. Through some rather convoluted comic book plot lines (I suppose that’s redundant) she later became a ninja assassin who wielded Japanese swords and a psychic knife and that just made me love her more! I think one of the reasons I identify with Psylocke is because a photographer called me “purple hair” one year during elementary school photos (I assume because my hair was so dark) and it’s stuck with me.

Uncanny_Psylocke

I realized I just revealed a rather large geeky aspect of myself, but I don’t really care. I’ve loved X-Men since the late 1980’s and have several boxes of their comic books that I really need to bring up from the basement. In addition to seeing the movie, I’ll be playing some Warcraft (yes, further geekness) with Jordan watching, enjoying dinner from Applebee’s at my mom’s, beading, and having an awesome dessert of ice cream cake. It’s already a beautiful morning out and I know it’s going to be an awesome day! I may be turning 39, but my spirit is still as young and energetic as it was when I was 16. Doesn’t mean I’ll be dying my hair purple any day soon though…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

