My shadow has four paws

Jazz in my shadow by JulieAnn Corbin

Even on days when the sun hides behind the clouds, I have a shadow and she has four paws. My shadow is my pup Jazzmin and as I’ve said many times, I can’t imagine my life without her. Inside my house, she’s always nearby. Usually when I get up from my desk, she gets up too and follows me or is the speedbump behind my chair that I almost trip over. Unless she’s snoring happily away in her crate (which she is right now) she keeps her eye on me and is always ready to play and of course, walk.

Along with Jazzmin, I have three cats and while they love me unconditionally just like Jazz, they show it differently. Jazzmin always comes when called while the cats come most of the time unless they’re sleeping or just plain ignoring me. Jazz is always eager to please and expresses happiness when she sees me and her unique doggy “smile” always brightens my day.

As any dog owner knows, having a constant companion that never judges you is a wonderful thing! I can ramble to Jazz about anything and she doesn’t think I’m crazy, odd or weird. Well, she might, but she doesn’t speak human so I don’t really know. I think mostly she’s just happy I’m talking to her and that’s not something that can be said of all the humans I’ve encountered.

Jazzmin doesn’t care that I don’t quite “fit in” with other humans or that my personality doesn’t always sit well with people, all she cares is that her mama loves her, feeds her, plays with her and takes her for walks every day. I can be 100% myself with Jazzmin and my other pets and they still love me. There’s truly something to be said for the unconditional love of animals.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “My shadow has four paws

  1. Lovely. Have a very happy Mother’s Day JulieAnn.🌺

Say something!

