The first hill is the hardest

image

I know the physical and emotional benefits of exercise, but that doesn’t mean I always eagerly look forward to getting off my butt and doing it. What matters though is that I do always eventually get my rear in gear and take my loyal pup Jazzmin for our daily walk.

Some days we take two short walks and some days we take one long walk. The other day we took a shorter walk than expected because of sudden rain and high winds.
image

That walk turned into a partial run and if there’s one thing Jazz loves more than walking, it’s running. She may actually rank peanut butter above both those things or at least wish she could eat peanut butter while exercising, but I digress.

image

Today was one of those days when I had trouble finding the motivation to exercise. It was somewhat chilly but the sun was out and there was really no reason to stay inside but I just felt kind of meh. I finally decided we would just walk down the road and back once I finished washing the dishes. Then a funny thing happened, when I was done with the dishes I realized that I wanted to take a longer walk and actually challenge myself.

Eager to take what I call the “short hilly walk” which is about 1.5 miles full of several small hills, I suited Jazz up in her backpack, put my sneaks on and off we went!

Now that I’d overcome my resistance to walking, I was faced with the challenge of the first hill of the walk. It isn’t even the biggest or steepest hill, but it’s right there after the first curve and walking up it feels harder than it should. However, I know from experience that once I conquer that first hill then the rest of them will be easier, even the taller ones.

Sure enough, we made it up the hill (it wasn’t a challenge for Jazz, I don’t think a mountain would be) and the rest of the walk felt great! Just like always, I was proud of myself for exercising and felt so much better because of it. Finding the motivation to exercise is just like walking up that first hill, it feels harder than it is but once I conquer it, I feel like I could go on and conquer the world.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “The first hill is the hardest

  1. I find that too. Once I warm up, I know I can make it through the rest…even if I have to take a break between exercises, I know I can see it through to the end and feel powerful.

Say something!

