Wants versus Needs

Sometimes what we think we want isn’t really what we need. I was reminded of this a couple weeks ago when I made an actual effort to have some sort of social life. I thought that in order to be an interesting person and meet the right people, I had to break out of my usual routine of hanging with my daughters, work, school, walking Jazzmin and beading.

My social life efforts involved going online, finding a few events nearby and then attending them. The first one was a network event at a winery and while I did get some free swag, it really wasn’t my scene.

Vineyard entrance for networking event

Vineyard entrance for networking event

The second event was a symposium and I’d never gone to a symposium before so I was quite excited. The Symposium on Eastern Woodland Material Culture and Art at the new Seneca Art and Culture Center was quite interesting, but it was way more stimulation than I’m used to. Listening to speakers give their presentations for an entire day was very educational and a lot for my brain to process.

Slide from one of the symposium presenters

Slide from one of the symposium presenters

By the time I drove home Saturday evening, I was really looking forward to just sitting on my couch with my animals as I watched Netflix and beaded.

What I learned from my social life efforts was that I’m obviously capable of getting out and doing things, but that I’m also quite happy with my life as it is. I have everything I need with my girls, my family, my friends, my pets, my house and my career as a writer. When compared to my local social life endeavors, I actually have more fun when I go on my road trips to New England and see familiar faces or explore new areas. There’s just so much more out there that I enjoy doing! I have a road trip planned for November and I’m really looking forward to it and consider it a worthwhile social life endeavor.

So although I may not be the most interesting woman in the world because I don’t climb mountains on weekends, teach Salsa dancing at night, arm wrestle bears daily or fly around the world every month, I know that who I am is more than good enough for the people in my life who genuinely care about me. I also know that there’s so much more to me than most people realize because they only take the time to see and judge what’s on the surface and miss out on all the treasure beneath. I may not always have everything I want, but the universe ensures that I always have exactly what I need.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

