Getting back up

plum island sunset

Sometimes we can be so focused on seeing the good in people that we fail to see the bad, and other times we can focus too much on the bad and not see the good in people. It’s challenging to find a balance. I try to always see the good in people even though I’ve dealt with my share that didn’t have the best intentions.

When it comes to friendships, I value quality over quantity and I therefore have a rather small circle of friends. That circle has waxed and waned like the moon through the years but until recently, I thought I’d finally found a handful of friends that I could trust, that were good people, that cared about me and that would have my back. One of those friends turned out to not be the person I thought and learning the truth sent my world spinning and my steps faltering.

The thing about me though is that despite learning the truth, I don’t wish that person any ill and I still believe they’re a good person to those they genuinely care about. I know that I have to move on with my life and take everything I learned through their friendship as a lesson. Am I hurting? Of course. Yet somehow, I always find the strength to stand back up after falling down or being knocked down. After all, it’s not the number of times we fall down that matters, it’s how many times we get back up that counts. I’ll get back up every single time.

I continue to have a good, strong heart and I know that I’ll learn and grow from that chapter of my life. In fact, rather than wallow in misery after learning the truth, I focused on happiness and savoring every moment I had with my daughters on our recent vacation. I breathed in the ocean air, smiled at the waves, basked in the sunshine and blue skies and most importantly, loved, laughed with and hugged my girls. They are and always will be my biggest blessings and I’m eternally grateful for them!

girls at plum island

My daughters playing in the evening waves of Plum Island, MA.

It would be easy to feel sad and alone now that my girls are off with their father for the weekend, I no longer have the main friend I talked to daily and it’s just me and the animals, but it’s an absolutely beautiful day and I have more than enough to keep me busy.

Seeking the positive boost of endorphins from exercise, I did my Zumba step workout this morning and I was happily exhausted when I finished. I have writing work to do and college assignments to finish up and of course I’ll be taking Jazzmin on a nice, long walk later today. Then there’s my beading projects to keep my mind occupied and my spirit peaceful. Every time I walk out the door, I’m greeted by a plethora of butterflies, birds, blue sky, clouds and warm breezes reminding me that I’m never really alone and that the universe hasn’t forgotten me and still has amazing plans for me.

I’ve been through worse than this and survived so I know I’ll be splendiferous again eventually. What matters most is that not only have I gotten back on my feet, but that I’ve chosen to continue to walk the high road and will continue to focus on seeing the good in people and the world.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

6 thoughts on “Getting back up

  1. I’ve been through a similar disappointment. While it occurred two years ago, I still think about it, rehearse what I should have said or what I will say if we ever cross paths again. I miss the friendship that I thought we had, but it seems I held it in higher value than they did. Still hurts, but I know it was the right decision for both of us.

    • corbingirl77 says:

      I’m sorry you experienced something similar, it isn’t any fun. Yes, it’s tough going through the “what if” and “if only”of the situation. When one person values the friendship more than the other, it rarely ends well. Someday I’ll understand why things happened the way they did and I’ll see the higher purpose behind it. =)

  2. I’m so sorry you went through this Juliann. The ups and downs of friendships can really wallop (been there) but I applaud you for getting back up. Don’t forget there are also friends out in blog land too. 😊 All the best.

Say something!

