Breaking out

image

It was supposed to be dreary and miserable all day today, but shortly after noon, the sun broke through the clouds and blue sky drove away the gray. It was a very welcome sight and lifted my spirits, which was especially nice since I’d had to go back to bed exhausted this morning after the girls got on the bus.

Even though I was still feeling tired and like there was a small elephant on my chest, I decided I’d try taking Jazz for a short walk. My weather app said it was 56 out and I longed to feel the sun and breathe fresh air, so off Jazz and I went.

I didn’t walk very fast and we only went down to the end of my road to the stream, but it felt great to be out of the house. The stream that runs under the end of the road is very full and fast thanks to all the snow melt and recent rain so I decided to sit in the grass of the bank and enjoy the sound and sight of the water. The sun was so bright and warm I took my sweatshirt off to feel the warmth on my skin as the breeze stirred my hair off my shoulders.

I sat there in the grass with Jazzmin beside me for quite some time just enjoying being outside breathing the fresh air. I was still tired, but my spirit felt renewed by being outside and seeing evidence that spring really is finally settling in. I also realized that even though I’m not at my strongest now, I will be again. Spring is a time of renewal and I’m certainly ready for some renewed energy!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

