Better to be odd…

better to be odd and memorable

I’ve been called odd more than once in my life, several times in fact. But that’s okay, I like being odd, it’s way better than being normal and boring. 

What makes me odd? Well I suppose that’s a matter of perspective and I’ll let you make up your own mind.

I’m not materialistic, never have been, never will be. My favorite stores to shop at are craft stores, not big name, fancy clothing stores. I need to create things with my own two hands, not garb my body in the latest trends. My idea of a “mani and pedi” is trimming and painting my own nails. When I buy shoes, it’s because I need shoes, not because I couldn’t resist some latest style. Considering most of the “stylish” shoes these days are skyscrapers heels I can’t even walk in, I won’t be in style ever. When I replace my phone, it’s because something on it is broken, not because I want the latest and greatest gadget. My service provider is Virgin Mobile because they’re the cheapest for everything I need without an expensive contract where everything seems a la carte.

While I’m a big fan of romantic comedies, my favorite movies are the Star Wars movies and my favorite show is Star Trek The Next Generation. Yes, I love both Star Wars and Star Trek and I see no need to pick one I like more than the other because they both have merit to me. I’ve read The Hobbit and don’t understand why they felt the need to make a zillion movies out of such a short book. I adore Marvel comic book movies and can recite The Avengers almost line by line. I can also recite almost every line in The Princess Bride and any true fan of that movie knows that’s not such an “Inconceivable!” thing. 😉

When I first meet people, I tend to be shy but once I’m comfortable, my blunt sarcastic side comes out. I come up with some zingers that surprise even me sometimes. I talk a LOT and have even had someone else press their finger to my lips more than once to stop my rambling. I’m also a great listener and loyal friend to those few who truly understand me and don’t want to change me. I don’t want to be changed because I love who I am, frizzy wavy hair, clumsiness, wit, geekiness, rambling and all.

Last night I was told I was odd yet again and from that, I came up with a little bit of insight. I realized that my peculiarities make me rather unique and impossible to forget. I bet there are people I met years ago that I haven’t talked to in forever that still remember me even if they don’t want to. To that I say, “Better to be odd and memorable than normal and forgettable.” And you can quote me on that. 😉

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

