Down but not out

Despite my slightly whining post of yesterday, I can assure you that even though I may be temporarily down due to sickness, you can never count me out. πŸ˜‰

A visit to urgent care this morning gave me the diagnosis of strep throat and a prescription for 10 days of antibiotics. Add onto that plenty of rest and fluids and hopefully I’ll be pain free and at full power very soon!

On my discharge papers it says no school or work for a couple days and I thought that sounded like a lovely idea! I then read further and learned those instructions were meant to avoid exposing classmates and/or coworkers to a contagious person. As I attend online college and work from home, that doesn’t apply to me. I’m trying not to breathe in my daughters’ direction and I replaced all the toothbrushes with new ones just to be safe. I sincerely hope neither of them get this because it’s rather unpleasant!

While I have been napping almost every day since I first became sick, I’ve never been totally down for the count. I’ve worked diligently every day on my freelance work and have kept up with my college assignments. Yesterday afternoon I even fought with the filter system in my basement for almost an hour because it was leaking.

While the kittens loved playing in the fun, dripping fountain, Mama did not like the wetness spreading all over the basement floor. I ended up turning off the water last night when I was unable to fix the leak. Thankfully, I slept on the problem and the solution presented itself. With a little more work this morning, the filter system is no longer leaking. Foggy brain, tired body, and sore throat aside, I am still a force to be reckoned with!

Now that I’m on antibiotics, I’m hoping I begin feeling better soon, but I know from experience that no matter what life throws at me, and how down I seem, it’s unwise to count me out!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Down but not out

  1. I celebrate you in your fierceness! I too have just endured the most violent 24 hour stomach flu I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. Today I feel better but weak yet moms have to push on don’t we ? So I celebrate all your productiveness when you have had such a burden to carry. Cheers!

Say something!

