Attitude with Altitude

My furbabies keeping me warm tonight.

My furbabies keeping me warm tonight.

I woke up yesterday morning with a slightly sore throat. I didn’t think much about it though and continued with my day of getting the girls on the bus, writing freelance articles, walking Jazzmin, and doing college work. Around 4:30 p.m. as I was sitting at my desk working with Angel snoozing on my lap, I began to feel extremely chilled. Goosebumps covered my arms and legs beneath my pants and sweatshirt and I couldn’t get warm. Thinking maybe it was just too cold by the window, I went over to my dad’s old rocking recliner and sat in that by the fireplace to finish the last of my articles. While I did manage to finish my article, the proximity to the fire didn’t warm me up and I knew something was wrong.

My oldest daughter Jordan had her chorus concert last night and I really didn’t want to miss it because I’m the mama and I never miss my daughters’ events. I ate some dinner hoping food would help, but it was no use, the chills wouldn’t go away and I couldn’t get warm. I couldn’t deny it anymore: I was sick.

I called Jordan and told her I wasn’t feeling well and couldn’t attend her concert and while she understood, I still felt bad that I couldn’t go. On the upside, I’d already heard all the music she sang at the mall concert Tuesday. After calling Jordan, I took some ibuprofen and went to bed hoping the chills would subside so I could rest. When I laid down every part of my body hurt, even my hands and I was afraid I was coming down with the flu.

Thankfully, the ibuprofen helped me fall asleep and I woke up two hours later feeling as if I was on fire! The chills were definitely gone and had been replaced with a fever of 100.2. I adore the kittens and they’d come to snuggle with me knowing I wasn’t feeling well but they were just a bit too hot for me to handle at that point. Unable to sleep until the fever subsided, I turned on the TV in my bedroom and the kittens were instantly fascinated. They hadn’t known that was a TV in my room and they took great pleasure in watching and trying to chase what they saw on the screen. Their antics lifted my spirits and made me laugh and I appreciated their presence in my life for the umpteenth time.

After watching a sappy Hallmark movie, I went back to sleep thanks to more ibuprofen. When I woke up this morning, I felt a bit better but my sore throat was worse. I endured a nasty bout of tonsillitis in 2011 and the thought of going through that again didn’t thrill me. Nonetheless, I rallied my positive spirit and headed to my mom’s for a nice, long, hot bath in the hopes of soaking and sweating some of the sickness toxins out of my body. I felt better after the bath and was able to go to the grocery store afterward for a few necessities.

By the time I returned home, I was exhausted again and my throat was even more sore despite the antiseptic lozenge I’d sucked on during the drive home. Once I put the groceries away, I took more ibuprofen, changed the sheets on my bed (never an easy or fun task when one doesn’t feel well) and then climbed under the covers for another nap. I woke up later feeling a little better but my throat was still sore.

I don’t like being in pain and not feeling well, I don’t think anybody does, but I work very hard at not letting it get me down. I could get all grumpy, huffy, and miserable and feel sorry for myself, as if the universe is picking on me or something…but I don’t. That’s not my way. I get upset when I’m in pain, but it’s a sadness and feeling of helplessness, which isn’t easy for me to accept. Somehow though, I’m able to remind myself that this sickness will pass and I’ll feel fine again eventually. I might have been pushing myself a bit too hard lately and perhaps I shouldn’t have walked Jazz in such cold weather, but I’m not a quitter. I believe that attitude is everything and the higher the altitude of that attitude, the better life will be. 

Despite feeling unwell, I’m fortunate in that I work from home and can relax on my bed or couch beneath layers of blankets as I write. I’ve been sipping on hot water with fresh ginger and honey all afternoon and it’s certainly helped. I was lucky enough to get some bonus time with my daughters tonight as I babysat them while my ex was at his work holiday party. My night was busier than it would have otherwise been but that’s okay because I love my time with them and won’t get them again until Sunday afternoon. I always miss them, but not having the girls enables me to get more rest and hopefully within a few days, I’ll be my perky, bubbly, chatty self!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Attitude with Altitude

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Even if it’s just a bad cold, being unwell just makes you feel so miserable. Look after yourself! xx

Say something!

