Making an effort

The winter sky today.

The winter sky today.

My plans for the day unraveled as soon as I got out of bed this morning. I went into the bathroom and was confused when I saw the toilet mat all crumpled up strangely. Upon closer inspection I discovered that one (or both) of the kittens had used the mat as their litter box. While I like making new discoveries, those sorts of things don’t exactly make my day.

I placed the soiled bath mat in a garbage bag to be washed and proceeded out into the kitchen where I realized the kittens had also anointed the kitchen mat in the same way. I was not pleased but it’s partially my own fault. I’ve been gradually moving their litter box closer to the basement where Owls’ litter box is and I finally put the kittens’ box in the basement last night. Problem is I forgot to take the kittens down into the basement and place them in the box. I figured they’d find it there because they’re always running into the basement like crazy demons. I was wrong. 

After placing both soiled mats in the garbage bag, I took the kittens each into the basement and plunked them down in their clean litter box. This made the little light bulb in their heads light up and they’ve been using the litter box in the basement all day. Amazing how one little oversight on my part snowballed into something that interrupted my day. I couldn’t have soiled bath mats sitting around smelling up the house so I knew I’d have to head to the laundromat once the girls were on the bus.

Why the laundromat? Because the water from my well has a high concentration of sulfur and the heating element in my dryer stopped working several months ago. I’ve been taking my laundry to my mother’s house to wash ever since the dryer quit and she’s nice enough to put up with my home maintenance shortfalls. I decided to take the dog bedding to the laundromat too since it usually fills the dryer filter with enough dog hair to make another pup.

Once the girls were both off to school, I wrote an article that was due this morning and then headed off to Geneseo where the laundromat was. There’s also a few other stores I needed things from in Geneseo so I put the gas I used to full use. I hung out in the laundromat for an hour washing and drying the mats and dog bedding while typing away on my laptop. t was a great excuse to get some fantasy writing done since there’s no Wi-Fi in the laundromat so I couldn’t do freelance work. I washed my blue bath mats with my white kitchen mat and ended up with a blue kitchen mat but that’s okay because blue is my favorite color. 😉 I’m very good at finding the upside in most situations. 🙂

While out on my errands, I’d continued my search for the ever illusive Italian wedding cookies/rainbow cookies. They’re my FAVORITE holiday cookies and they’re impossible to find without visiting an Italian bakery. One of the local grocery stores used to carry a brand of them during the holidays but they’ve apparently stopped. The last time I had a rainbow cookie was in Boston from Mike’s Pastry and it was so yummy I wish I’d bought more than one! I realized I’d have to make rainbow cookies to satisfy my craving so I added that to my to-do list.

I ran a couple more errands in Geneseo before heading back home to return the clean mats to their rightful spots, replace the dog bedding, and resume my freelance work. I took Jazz for a walk but it was too cold to go very far. I’ve missed one day walking her so far this month and that was this past Saturday because we were so busy. I’ll eventually make up for it with two walks in one day, but today was not that day. It was 25 degrees but felt like 14 with winds gusting over 40mph. We were lucky we didn’t freeze solid halfway out!

I thawed out from our frigid walk by assembling and baking the Italian cookies. They’re very labor intensive and the batter is lumpy with almond paste but it still tastes divine! Rainbow cookies are usually red, plain, and blue or red, green, and plain but I made mine a bit more unique. My rainbow cookies are pastel green, pink, and purple and while they might not be as pretty as the ones found in Italian bakeries, I’m sure they’ll be delicious. They have to chill before I can pour the melted chocolate over them but I’m extremely eager to taste them! I imagine covering them with chocolate will also get me covered in chocolate but that’s not a bad thing.

So while my day didn’t start out or proceed as planned, I eventually caught back up to where I was supposed to be and was even able to add a bit more into the mix. It proved to me once again that I can never go wrong as long as I’m making an effort to move forward and get things done!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Making an effort

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Ah, don’t you just hate days that start like that? Well done on catching up! My new(ish) kitty Arwen pees on the front door mat occasionally for some reason. She uses the litter box or outside just fine. I am trying to get to the bottom of it… 😉

    • corbingirl77 says:

      If only kitties could talk human! That would make it easier. Though most of the time they’d probably be saying “Feed me!” Lol. The kittens have been good now and I’ve learned my lesson.

Say something!

