Furry purry balls of love (and chaos!)

Daisy and Angel snuggled up watching The Christmas Shepherd on Hallmark Channel tonight.

Daisy and Angel snuggled up watching The Christmas Shepherd on Hallmark Channel tonight.

I’ve had my kittens Daisy and Angel for a little over a month now and it’s definitely been an adventure! I forgot how crazy kittens could be and there are days when I think I’m nuts to be dealing with babies again. The “little darlings” go from being snuggly little furry purry balls of love to absolutely unbelievable balls of chaos in the blink of an eye sometimes!

They run the length of my house and into the basement, they climb curtains, jump at pull chains for ceiling fans, frolic in the bathtub, and happily drag out every bit of string-like substance they can find from hair ties to shoe laces. They’ve retrieved all of Jazz’s tennis balls from the various pieces of furniture they rolled under and they go after flies and ladybugs as though it’s their main mission in life!

Just like when I adopted Jazzmin from the shelter and wished she could tell me what her life was like with her previous owners, I wish the kittens could tell me what their lives were like. They do tell me quite a lot with certain behaviors that are unlike anything I’ve encountered with previous cats or kittens. Whenever I fill the cat food bowl, Daisy and Angel come running from wherever they were and eat eagerly as if it were their last meal. They’re obsessed with water! They’re constantly trying to drink from the dog’s water bowl when I fill it, they jump in sinks, and even tried to drink out of the toilet more than once. When I clean out their litter box, they’re immediately ready to use it, sometimes trying to jump in before I’m done. I do wish they had a bit more patience for such things…

The kittens first encounter with an ice cube. They were fascinated!

The kittens first encounter with an ice cube. They were fascinated!

When I first brought the kittens home, they didn’t seem to know what cat toys were. I had some jingle balls and a trackball toy with a scratching pad and when I showed it to them, they seemed uninterested. The first time I got out the laser pointer to play with them, they were utterly fascinated and had to compete with Jazzmin to chase the elusive red bug. Angel didn’t even know that her tail was something fun to chase until I took it and tickled her face with it one day. Ever since then, she’s loved chasing it while on the couch or the kitchen floor. I find it so difficult to comprehend that such sweet little kittens didn’t know how to play with toys and their own tails!

From everything I’ve witnessed the kittens do, I’ve concluded that their lives before they were brought to the shelter involved fighting for everything they wanted. They treat every meal as if it’s their last, every drink like it will suddenly evaporate, and every toy as if it’s the greatest treasure in the world. They adore snuggling and purr whenever I picked them up. I know they’re happy here and they’ve certainly brought new happiness to my life and the lives of my daughters.

Jordan and Angel

Jordan and Angel

Jaycie petting the snuggling kittens.

Jaycie petting the snuggling kittens.

The kittens snuggled up against Jazzmin.

The kittens snuggled up against Jazzmin.

Angel says "I wuv you, Jazzmin!"

Angel says “I wuv you, Jazzmin!”

The kittens always look the most adorable when I need to get out of bed.

The kittens always look the most adorable when I need to get out of bed.

 

Angel was more snuggly than Daisy when we first got home but over the past month, Daisy has become a good snuggler too. The sister kittens love to sleep on each other and Jazzmin and they always know when I’m a bit down and need some extra furry purry attention. Even when they’re driving me crazy by climbing screens, de-ornamenting the tree, chewing on power cords, and wrestling on the bed when I’m trying to sleep, I still adore them and wonder how I ever survived without them.

Daisy snuggled up against me tonight as I typed this blog.

Daisy snuggled up against me tonight as I typed this blog.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Furry purry balls of love (and chaos!)

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Cats (and all animals) are nature’s antidepressants – even when they’re being a pain! Love the pics, especially the ones of the kittens and Jazzmin. xx

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Yes, they certainly are! They make me so happy when they’re snuggling and I know eventually they’ll outgrow their kitten craziness lol. I’m amazed how quickly Jazz and the kittens got snuggly and it warms my heart =)

Say something!

