What Does ‘Fat’ Mean to You?

Impressive words from someone just starting out in the blogging world! A must read!

Battling Body Image

I was nineteen the day that I looked in the mirror and I saw a fat person. I was a 5’2” tall girl who weighed 113 pounds and yet I saw myself as fat.

I was upset. I started exercising. I ate less. I lost weight. Soon, I was diagnosed with Eating Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (EDNOS).

EDNOS is a type of eating disorder for people who don’t have all of the symptoms for anorexia or bulimia. Most people think that people with an eating disorder have to look deathly skinny. But that is not so.

But what does being ‘fat’ mean?

At the time, I thought it meant being big, obese, not skinny. I thought that being ‘fat’ was undesirable, unattractive and even unintelligent. I also thought that being ‘fat’ was the same as being imperfect.

I realize now that I tried to change myself by exercising and dieting. I was trying…

View original post 96 more words

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

