Walk it off

 

Today's view on what I call the "short hilly walk"

Today’s view on what I call the “short hilly walk”

Some days are harder than others for me and there’s no real logical explanation for it. For example, today is a beautiful day with sunshine and temperatures in the high 50’s, which is an amazing blessing for November in Upstate NY! I do recognize what a wonderful day it is and I’m grateful for it, but my heart was troubled this morning. Maybe it’s the cycle of the moon, maybe it’s some planetary alignment, maybe I’m picking up on a family member or friend’s emotions, maybe my unrequited love stings more than usual, or maybe I’m just missing my father because that overwhelms me at unexpected moments. Whatever the reason or reasons, there’s nothing logical about it, but I’ve never been a very logical being. My feelings and thoughts get all tangled up sometimes and I feel like I’m trapped in a briar patch and that’s exactly when I know I need to walk it off.

I mean literally walk it off. I suit Jazz up in her backpack, snap on her collar and leash, lace up my sneaks and hit the road. That’s what I did today before lunch because I couldn’t stand the confusion anymore. I admit, it’s easier to continue to sit on my butt and mope, but that sure as heck never makes me feel better! So I force my butt up and out and within moments of walking with Jazzmin, I begin to find inner peace again. Somehow the world makes more sense when I’m out in the fresh air, my feet striding over the pavement, Jazz panting beside me, and the universe embracing me.

I kept a brisk pace today but I didn’t walk the entire time. I paused several times to just stand and observe the world around me. The majority of trees that still have their leaves are oak and I listened as the wind stirred the trees’ dried leaves upon their branches, trying to yank them free. But oak trees are stubborn things and they hold onto those leaves as long as they can, sometimes all winter. I can relate to that oak tree stubbornness and their refusal to let go of their leaves even when every other tree has. Why should they do what every other tree does? I’ve never been one to follow the crowd either.

The oak trees hanging onto their leaves.

The oak trees hanging onto their leaves.

Pausing to feel the wind upon my face and allow it to caress my hair, helps me feel renewed and less entangled in thorny briars. The warmth of the sun eases the pain in my heart and the unexpected sight of a butterfly in November brings an immediate smile to my face. Life is so much more manageable and understandable when I get out, walk, and let all those lovely endorphins do their job. Any type of exercise helps improve my mood, but the ability to be out in nature always touches me deeper and smooths over the rough spots that trouble my day. Somehow or other I always manage to rally, pick myself back up, and walk it off.

I love how the sun looks like a spot of light in a shadowed vortex in this unedited picture.

I love how the sun looks like a spot of light in a shadowed vortex in this unedited picture.

But the edited picture shows that it really wasn't as dark as it seemed.

But the edited picture shows that it really wasn’t as dark as it seemed. It’s all about banishing the shadows…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

