It’s in the cards – Being less of a hermit

Sentinel Sculpture photo courtesy of RIT Big Shot. This was near the building that housed tonight’s event.

During my tarot card reading, she told me that it was time for me to get out more and be less hermit-like. Perfectly reasonable advice, but something I often have trouble with. When I’m in New England, I’m not in my hotel much unless the weather is bad and even then, I find somewhere to go and something to do. Where I live in Upstate NY isn’t nearly as exciting in my opinion, so I spend a lot of my alone time at home working, hanging with my pup Jazzmin, and now that I have Angel and Daisy, snuggling with kittens.

I’m happy in my own little comfort zone but the tarot reader insisted I really need to get out more and share my light with the world. As a step toward following that advice, I drove to the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) this evening for an event entitled “Onondaga Land Rights/ Two Row Wampum Film Screening and Discussion.” I just learned about the event a few day’s ago but as I’m on an eternal quest to increase my knowledge of everything pertaining to Native American past, present, and future, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to escape hermitism.

I will discuss the event in more detail when I’m less tired, but I’m very glad I went! One of the many reasons I decided to attend was because I’m trying to figure out a topic for my research paper in the Composition II course I’m taking. I know I want the paper to deal with Native Americans/First Nations People but my ideas were too broad and I was having trouble narrowing them down until I attended tonight’s event. Some of the topics discussed at the event were right in line with one of the directions I was thinking of taking for my paper, which confirmed that it is a universal issue among Indigenous People.

Something I’ve discovered as I learn more about Native American/First Nations People past, present, and future is that once you open your eyes to the truth and begin expanding your mind, there’s an infinite amount of knowledge out there to be found. I know with great certainty that I can’t properly share everything I’ve learned and continue my education by remaining a hermit, so I will be making a conscious effort to get out in whatever way required to shed light on topics that are near and dear to my heart and spirit.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

