It’s in the cards – Focusing my energy

 

Wearing the tulip necklace I made with sleeping Daisy in the background.

Wearing the tulip necklace I made with little Daisy sleeping in the background.

During my tarot reading in Salem, MA, one of the first things the tarot reader said was that my energy seemed to be all over the place and that I needed to work on focusing it. She said I have all these ideas but I have trouble seeing things through from start to finish. She was spot on and I don’t know if it’s my Gemini personality or what, but I have trouble staying focused on one thing. I have various ideas for writing, jewelry, art, research projects, travel plans, you name it! Keeping my focus on just one thing until it’s realized though, that’s not my strongest ability.

That tarot reading wasn’t the first time I’ve been told I need to focus my energy. It’s something I’ve been told by others and that I’ve told myself on multiple occasions. I do finish projects, but the problem I run into is having too many project ideas at once and not enough time to do them all. So rather than picking just one and following it through to its end, I go off on another project and lose sight of what I’d started somewhere else. This “multitasking/multi-thinking” ability comes in extremely handy in my freelance writing as I can quickly shift from one topic to the next, but in other aspects of my life, it can be troublesome.

The tarot reader advised me on all areas of my life and I will put all that information to good use, but for now I’m trying to focus on one thing and that’s focusing my energy and avoiding becoming all scatter-brained. I think once I have a better handle on that, everything else will come much easier and I won’t feel overwhelmed by having a zillion unfinished projects hovering over me.

To put the tarot reader’s suggestion of focusing my energy into motion, I started with my beadwork. I created a bead embroidery tulip necklace many months ago and never quite finished it. I decided that before I continued on with other beading projects, I had to finish that tulip necklace FIRST! The inspiration for the tulip came to me in a dream and I’m certain that was symbolic of something important. So this morning while I was visiting my mother, I sat down on her couch, dug out the tulip necklace project and finally finished it. I don’t think it took me more than 10 minutes to add the clasp on the daisy chain and an extra loop on the embroidered tulip pendant. Why on earth had I been putting off doing something that only took 10 minutes??? One reason is because my squirrel! type brain saw a more appealing nut/project and ran off after that instead. The other reasons? Heck, who knows!

10 29 14 blog1

The completed bead embroidery tulip pendant on a beaded green and purple daisy chain.

What I do know is that now that I’ve finished that project, I can move onto my other half-finished projects and complete them before starting others. Finishing the necklace gave me a wonderful feeling of accomplishment and I really need to focus on remembering that instead of getting distracted by new “shiny things” ie other interesting projects. I think it’s fine to dabble in several different areas of creativity at once, but I know that I need to tie off the loose ends in each area before things start to unravel everywhere.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

