Exactly what I needed!

Angel looking at the camera, Daisy looking out the window.

Angel looking at the camera, Daisy looking out the window.

I can honestly say that Angel and Daisy are exactly what I needed right now in my life! I forgot how wonderful it feels to be a Mama Kitty! I did still have Owl before I got the kittens, but she’s an indoor/outdoor cat and only ever snuggles on her terms. Angel and Daisy are happy to snuggle and always nearby no matter what I’m doing.

Last night both kittens slept in my room on my bed. Angel wanted to be as close to me as possible so she was sitting on my sternum while I tried to play on my phone. When I’d lift it up to text, she’d sniff at it and make it nearly impossible to see the screen. When I finally put the phone down for the night and turned off the lights, I rolled over and she promptly arranged herself on my shoulder. That was a rather awkward position and not comfortable but I put up with it for a while.

Angle on my shoulder. =)

Angel on my shoulder. =)

Eventually, Angel climbed off my shoulder and snuggled up by my head while Daisy snuggled at my feet. Every now and then Daisy would sneeze during the night but they both seemed to sleep okay. Unfortunately, Daisy is feeling a bit under the weather with the little kitty cough and sniffles that some shelter animals get, but I’m sure she’ll be feeling better soon. I remember Zoey had the same sickness when I adopted her. She’d be happily snuggling and purring away and then suddenly sneeze in my face, much to my dismay. Daisy sneezes now and then but mostly she has the sniffles and sounds congested. It’s not overly surprising because she’s the runt, but Avi was a runt and she lived longer than any cat I’ve ever owned! It’s amazing how the littlest creatures can be the most resilient.

Jordan snuggling with Daisy last night.

Jordan snuggling with Daisy last night.

I woke up a few times in the middle of the night (like I always do) and when I’d reach for my phone to check the time, Daisy would come up from the bottom of the bed and try to pet herself with my hands. I played with a few apps on my phone and she seemed fascinated by the light. After putting the phone away again, I finally had to tuck my hands under my pillow so she’d forget I had them and then she went back to the end of the bed. It made my heart so warm and fuzzy snuggling with kitties again! I have a huge bed but they managed to snug me in like a tight sleeping bag. I’m sure I’ll really appreciate that snugness during the cold winter months!

I took a shower this morning and both kittens wanted to be in the bathroom with me, which surprised me. They also both tried to get in the shower with me and that was just odd! Once I got out of the shower, they jumped into the tub to investigate and I was so astounded I took a couple pictures.

You go that way, I'll go this way...

You go that way, I’ll go this way…

Ooo the drain!

Ooo the drain!

Daisy just got dripped on from the faucet, hence her expression.

Daisy just got dripped on from the faucet, hence her expression.

While I worked today, Angel would come over periodically and snuggle into my lap. I forgot how nice that is! Well, it was nice once she stopped stepping on my mouse, chasing my cursor, and turning around 27 times.

Angel the lap kitty.

Angel the lap kitty.

When she’s not in my lap, Angel likes sitting on top of my laser printer and Daisy usually sits in front of it on my desk. I’m not sure why they like it so much since it’s rarely ever on and certainly not generating any heat.

They had a few more encounters with Owl today and while the kittens don’t seem to mind Owl, she’s not thrilled with them and hisses and growls. She doesn’t let it keep her from filling her fat tummy though…

Daisy sniffing at Owl.

Daisy sniffing at Owl.

Well excuuuse me, porky cat!

Well excuuuse me, porky cat!

I snuggled with both kittens on the couch this evening and they certainly are efficient little space heaters! I was looking at their paws today and realized they have pink and black paw pads just like Avi did and that was one of the many neat details I loved about her. I know the sweet furballs will continue to warm the hearts and bodies of my girls and I  for years to come and I’m so grateful they’ve come into our lives!

snuggle kitties

Daisy on the left, Angel being squished on the right.

 

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

