The Calming Storm

thunderstorm1

Today’s weather was far from sunshine and blue sky and by the end of it I felt like a drowned rat, but there was still beauty to be found. There’s something cleansing about rain, even when it makes you cold and wet. The power of the wind is an impressive force too and when combined with the rain, they remind us mere mortals that we are not as mighty as we think.

I am too exhausted from work and adventures to write the words to describe my day so I turn instead to a poem from the past. I originally posted it on my Corbin Creations blog in 2012. Although it’s about a summer storm, I believe it speaks of the spiritual power of any storm.

****

The Calming Storm (6/14/2012)

The air was very still tonight
The glow of fireflies the only light
I heard a rumbling in the distance
Mother Nature in her usual dance.

A cloudy darkness, thick and warm
Will be no drier after the storm
And yet to breathe it in brings comfort
For someone of the simple earthy sort.

Bare feet upon a cool wooden deck
I step to the railing just to check
What stretches beyond the open field
And wonder what life will someday yield.

The first big drops of rain start to fall
I close my eyes, smile, enjoy it all
My skin, my clothes, my hair all wet
But I am not ready to go inside yet.

There is something so cleansing about warm rain
How it opens my heart and washes away the pain
So many dreams I haven’t claimed
My spirit wild and forever untamed.

I am a lover, fighter, champion and friend
Who like the willow has learned to bend
For in this life there are no rewards
To those who never lay down their swords.

There must be balance to keep things going
To accept and understand that even hurt is worth knowing
The lessons are not always fun
And some battles can not be won.

Every storm comes fierce and strong
But such power and fury can’t last long
And when peace returns and turmoil is gone
There will always be a brighter and more beautiful dawn.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

