Keeping journals

A lone oak tree holding its leaves among bare walnut trees.

A lone oak tree holding its leaves among bare walnut trees.

One of the ways I stay focused on the positive aspects of my life is by keeping journals. My “journals” are actually text entries on my little sticky note app but they work fine for me. I created the journals in August of this year to better track all the good things in my life. I know I have many blessings but some days are harder than others and it’s easy to lose sight of the good stuff.

I have two journals I update daily. In my “Positivity Journal” I jot down all the positive things that happened during the day. In my “Signs and Omens Journal” I keep a record of all the signs and omens I’ve seen throughout the day. I wasn’t aware of all the signs I receive daily until I started tracking them! Even on my toughest days, there are always numerous things to write in my positivity journal. It’s just a matter of shifting my focus to truly counting my blessings and not dwelling in the shadows.

An example of things I write in my Positivity Journal range from little triumphs like walking Jazzmin and working on beading projects to bigger accomplishments such as receiving a high grade on a college assignment or landing a new writing client who pays well. I write down important things like “The girls are both healthy” and “It was a beautiful day” in that journal too. I can be in the midst of tears over something or other, but the moment I shift my thoughts and start entering things in that positivity journal, I feel much better!

I look for signs and omens because they indicate to me that I’m on the right path and that my father, my spirit guardians, and all the powers that be are still looking out for me. Sometimes I ask for specific signs and sometimes I just look for my favorite positive omens of seeing a hawk or butterfly. I’ve been making mental notes of the signs I see for a long time but I had no idea how numerous they were until I started that journal. The powers that be always send me signs and omens at the right time and I’ve learned to trust in their guidance.

Today was a beautiful day full of blessings and on my walk with Jazzmin I saw three hawks and a monarch butterfly. The monarch was especially surprising because I haven’t seen one in days and thought they had all flown south. I also saw a robin this evening and was happy to realize that they haven’t all left yet. There truly is so much beauty, blessings, and wonder in every single day! If you’re having trouble seeing that, I highly suggest you start keeping journals. πŸ™‚

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Keeping journals

  1. That’s a wonderful idea JulieAnn! We have a “GOOD THINGS” jar for the family. It’s in a central location in the house. Its filled with little slips of paper that each member of the family adds whenever there is something joyous worth celebrating. Then we read it together on New Years eve sort of as a recap of the year. Sometimes taking moments like this to stop and appreciate the blessings around is a blessing in itself. All the best to you.

Say something!

