Know Your Own Value (re-post)

Time is valuable, don't waste it!

Time is valuable, don’t waste it!

While I do have ideas for a totally new blog entry tonight, I’m too tired to write it just now so I’m calling upon my past self once again for an older blog entry. I vaguely remember writing the one I’m posting tonight and when I re-read it, I realized I should probably commit it to memory. I admit that I don’t always take my own advice, even when I know it’s good and has been proven right. Ridiculous I know, but it’s the truth.

I experienced great success in my writing career today and while that makes me extremely happy, it’s being almost overshadowed with issues in my personal life. I know things can’t always be perfect but I have experienced times when everything is in a nice, positive sync and it feels like smooth sailing. Despite the rough weather I’m currently enduring in a particular friendship, I know that I’ve survived worse and have come out stronger. The same will be true this time too but at the moment, I’m feeling a little seasick 😉

As I take some advice from my past self I hope it helps other people too. I assure you that I do really believe what I wrote…when my heart isn’t fogging up the clarity of my brain.

***

Know Your Own Value (2/21/2013)

Your time is valuable, never forget that. Those aren’t just words to use as an excuse when you don’t want to do something, those are words that should actually mean something. Time is far too fleeting and precious to waste on frivolous endeavors that do not further you on your path. Know and accept that your time is valuable because YOU are valuable. No matter what anyone else in this world might say or think, you are an important commodity and should never be taken for granted. 

If life has repeatedly shown you that something you say or do makes a difference and is appreciated, open your eyes and see that. Do not dismiss praise and recognition as a one-time thing or feel that if you accept your own importance, you’re not being humble any longer. As long as you work hard and earn that positive recognition then it is truly yours and it is not conceited to acknowledge that.  When that pat on the back happens once, smile and enjoy it, and when it happens consistently accept that what you do comes from who you are as a person.  

Take pride in your work and follow your bliss. Everyone has their own perspective so your efforts will not always be seen as beneficial or praise-worthy. Don’t believe that the opinions of the few are the feelings of the majority though. Stop being your own worst critic and start seeing yourself in the positive light others see around you. The sooner you understand that both you and your time are valuable, the sooner you will be on your way to much better things!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

