Things that make you go “Awww!” in the night

Red and gray Eastern Screech-Owls

For the past couple months, when full dark has fallen, I’ve been periodically hearing a very cute sort of cooing whinnying call coming from the trees that border the huge farmer’s field behind my house. I’d done a few Google searches for things like “cooing sounds at night” and all that led me to was mourning doves. I have mourning doves flying all over my yard, I call them flying battleships, and I know quite well what they sound like. Not to mention that mourning doves are not nocturnal.

My next thought was that it was some type of owl I was hearing at night, but when I went to sights like AllAboutBirds and Audubon, none of the sounds I listened to was what I’d heard. I was beginning to think I’d never know what creature was making that noise.

Last night I heard the sound again when I took Jazzmin out for the last time until the morning. I listened to it very carefully to memorize it and because I just love the way it sounds! This morning I did another Google search for “cute cooing sounds at night” and that led me to a discussion board. On the discussion board, someone included a link to a site called eNature. I’d never visited that particular site before so I clicked on the link and scrolled down until I found the link for owl sounds.

I clicked through the first few owls listed but none of them sounded right. Finally, I clicked on the one labeled Eastern Screech-Owl and the sound was exactly what I’d been hearing! I was so happy I actually giggled and did a little chair dance! I love owls and to discover that the mystery sound belonged to an adorable little feathered friend made my morning!

Reading about Eastern Screech-Owls, I got a warm fuzzy feeling when I learned that they usually mate for life. What a sweet idea! Knowing that the cute little 10-inch tall, feathered fluffballs are out in the trees fills me with an indescribable inner light and contentment. Their presence makes the things that go bump in the night a bit less scary because I know the scary stuff doesn’t stand a chance against so much awwwwdorableness!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Things that make you go “Awww!” in the night

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Wow, we don’t have anything so exotic, but we have a pair of tawny owls in the trees near us. Hearing one go ‘To-wit’ and the other go ‘To-woo’ is awesome.
    Although they keep hubby awake… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • corbingirl77 says:

      They’re apparently very common around here but I hadn’t heard one until this summer. I’m hoping they make noise tonight so I can have a better idea where to look for them during the day ๐Ÿ˜Š

Say something!

