Cool weather has arrived, time to get in bikini-wearing shape!

gypsy

Taken fall, 2011. Hoping to get into even better shape this fall and winter!

Cool weather has arrived and it’s time to get my body back in bikini-wearing shape! In all honesty, there’s a snowball’s chance in Hades I’ll ever wear a bikini again but as most women’s workouts talk about getting in “bikini shape” I thought I’d run with it. Well, I don’t actually run much either, but I digress…

The truth is that when the temperature drops, that’s when I feel more motivated to workout. During the warmer months the extent of my workouts are walking Jazzmin daily, doing some free weight work, and playing Xbox Kinect games with my oldest daughter, Jordan. I’m not big on working up a sweat working out when I can just step outside and sweat from the heat.

However, in the winter time when it’s frigid outside and only slightly warmer in my drafty house, that’s the perfect time to heat up with a workout! When I’m huddled on the couch under a blanket and even snuggling with the dog doesn’t warm me up, I know I need to get up and get moving! After about 10 minutes playing Dance Central, doing Zumba, or participating in any of the other myriad of DVD workouts I have, I’m so warm I turn the furnace off. Shortly after that I usually turn on the floor fan and by the end of the workout it feels like summer in my house. It takes me a good two hours to feel cold again and it’s a great way to thaw out my body and save propane by not running the furnace. Win win!

Last winter I had a really hard time convincing myself to walk Jazzmin amid the snow and cold but I’m hoping I won’t have that problem this year. Even a short walk is good for both of us, especially since Jazz can’t do the DVD workouts with me 😉 While most people look forward to winter because they can wear layers to cover what they view as imperfections, I look forward to it because I can workout, shed layers, and get my “bikini body” back to utilize in my daydreams of being somewhere warmer.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

