Okay, October, let’s do this!

Gorgeous clouds today!

Gorgeous sky today!

The first day of October started out dreary, foggy, but pleasantly warm for autumn in Upstate New York. To help get the month off to an exciting “bang,” I had my first ever Family Court appearance this morning and I had to attend it without my lawyer. Apparently, she never received the court paperwork and was, in fact, out of town. Thankfully, it was just a preliminary meeting to set up the future hearing date and I spent a whopping five whole minutes in the courtroom, but I still think I was rather “rawr!” for going alone!

Considering how stressed I’d been over the appearance (especially since I only learn yesterday my lawyer was out of town) it was a welcome relief that it turned out to not be a big deal. After the court appearance, I met my mother for breakfast at the little diner next to where I was having my car inspected. I ordered my usual French toast, but instead of taking half it home as I usually do, I wolfed it all down as though I hadn’t eaten in days! After the stress of the past few days, I’m surprised I didn’t eat my plate too!

Thankfully, my car passed inspection without any issues and I drove home praising it for being such a nice little Toyota Matrix. Once home, I did some college work, but when I started having trouble staying awake, I realized a nap was in order. Apparently, all the recent anticipation and anxiety wore my body out and it needed a recharge. Two hours of being dead to the world later, I woke refreshed and ready to tackle more college work!

I took my usual college work break to walk Jazzmin and our jaunt up the farmer’s road was quite lovely today. The sun had finally come out, there was a nice breeze, and the trees were changing in a wash of yellow, orange, red and burgundy. As I walked, my mind was going a thousand miles a minute thinking of all the possible blog post topics I could explore this month.

These little wild daisies grew through gravel. Proof that strength is beautiful!

These little wild daisies grew through gravel. Proof that strength is beautiful!

You see, I’ve decided to make October one of my “post every day” months. It seems a bit crazy to me to do that, especially when I’ll be busy finishing my last three weeks in this college term, but October is a significant month for me and I refuse to sleepwalk through it just wishing it would end. On October 21st, it will have been 5 years since my father died, and while that doesn’t seem possible, denying the truth has never changed it. My father wouldn’t want me to muddle mindlessly through this month; he’d want me to honor his spirit by doing one of the things he always encouraged me to do: write! So it is with an eager, determined, and uplifted heart that I say, “Alright, October, let’s do this!”

The fall color is increasing daily!

The fall color is increasing daily!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

