Smiles and sunshine every day!

Jaycie blowing out her birthday cake candles.

Jaycie blowing out her birthday cake candles.

Today was my youngest daughter’s 8th birthday. For the rest of time, I will tell Jaycie the story of her birth. How she kicked and hiccuped through labor and even as I pushed her out and how the nurses found that fascinating! She didn’t do anything “by the book” from day one and that’s a true trait of every Corbin-blooded female.

Jaycie hugging her Sofia the First doll still in the package.

Jaycie hugging her Sofia the First doll still in the package.

As soon as she learned how to smile, Jaycie woke up every morning and from every nap smiling! She’s always been a very happy child and she’s a ray of sunshine on even the roughest days. She’s unique among all her other family members and not just because she’s the only one with the combination of blond hair and blue eyes.

The Pinkie Pie pillow her older sister Jordan handmade for her.

The Pinkie Pie pillow her older sister Jordan handmade for her.

 

She’s been receiving therapy since she was two and a half years old because she’s developmentally delayed and when any new therapists ask for descriptions of her, the first thing that always comes into my mind is “She’s just Jaycie!” That’s the only category and diagnosis she belong in, as far as I’m concerned. She’s my Jaycie Bear, my special miracle and one of the two biggest blessings in my life, my beautiful daughters.

Jaycie holding up her new Scooby-Doo toys and Jordan looking on.

Jaycie holding up her new Scooby-Doo character and Jordan looking on.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

