You can’t keep a good girl/resourceful woman down!

Driving toward the Mohawk Valley area of NY.

Driving toward the Mohawk Valley area of NY.

This bridge over the Hudson River is one of my favorites!

This bridge over the Hudson River is one of my favorites!

When I left Upstate NY this morning it was a pleasant 60 degrees with low humidity, blue skies and tons of happy, puffy clouds. That was an extremely welcome change from most of my previous trips where it was pouring, snowing, sleeting, ice-storming or marking the return of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Okay, that last one was a slight exaggeration…

Shortly after I crossed the border into Massachusetts, the clouds got thicker and less happy looking. The skies eventually turned quite dark and ominous but luckily I only drove through a few sprinkles. I could tell by the state of the roads though that it had rained quite a bit during the day.

I only got caught in a couple of bouts of stop-and-go traffic amid construction and that was another positive improvement! Usually I encounter bumper-to-bumper situations through every major city/town in Massachusetts.

Notice how much distance I keep between myself and cars ahead of me. I used to work for an insurance company, nuff said!

Notice how much distance I keep between myself and cars ahead of me? I used to work for an insurance company, nuff said!

I arrived at the hotel in Seabrook, NH at around 4:15, checked in and unloaded my car. Once everything was settled in my room, I hopped in the shower to wash away the day of driving. The cooler, drier weather hadn’t reached New England yet despite my best  efforts to drag it along behind my car. It was still rather gloomy when I left the hotel to head into Amesbury, MA but I was certain it would clear up eventually.

My usual route into Amesbury was blocked by a police car and I didn’t realize why until later when I left the town. There were some lines dangling so low that it was impossible for cars going into town to sneak under them. I don’t know what kind of lines they were but they must have diverted traffic because of them.

Well at least there's caution tape on the lines...

Well at least there’s caution tape on the lines…

 

My trip into Amesbury proved less eventful than usual because shops were closed and I was bit bummed. I’d really wanted to see some familiar faces today. But I’m not one to stay down for long so being the resourceful woman that I am, I decided change my plans and head elsewhere for dinner.

I’ve been craving clam strips and fries ever since I failed to get them during my last trip so I typed “seafood restaurant” into Foursquare and one of the places that came up was Lena’s Seafood in Salisbury, MA. They listed exactly what I wanted on their menu and were only a few minutes from Amesbury so off I went. I ordered my food and didn’t have to wait long before they called my number and presented a plate covered with a mountain of clam strips, fries, onion rings, coleslaw and a roll. I definitely got my money’s worth!

It'd take 4 of me to eat all this!

It’d take 4 of me to eat all this!

The food was delicious but way more than I could eat. I stayed at Lena’s Seafood until the latest bout of rain stopped and then headed back to Seabrook for a little shopping. I’d forgotten to pack an item of clothing I needed so I headed to Kohl’s where I originally bought it. When I parked my car I noticed a couple shopping cars scattered about blocking parking spaces. I grabbed two carts and then saw a third and managed to steer them awkwardly back into the store. Nobody likes having a stray shopping cart run into their car and I figured they’d been rained on enough for one day. Happy with myself for doing such a good deed, I breathed in the air conditioning and looked around to discover the store was laid out exactly like the one back where I live in NY! They had what I needed and a few other shirts that jumped off the rack and into my arms 😉

After Kohl’s I went to Market Basket for my usual milk and other small essentials before heading back to my hotel. By then the skies were clearing up nicely and the red tones of the sunset promised warmth and sunshine tomorrow.

Looking a bit brighter when I parked at Market Basket.

Looking a bit brighter when I parked at Market Basket.

Glimpse of the sunset from my hotel.

Glimpse of the sunset from my hotel.

While the evening didn’t quite go as I’d hoped, I’ve learned to adjust quickly and think on my feet. I am living proof that you can’t keep a good girl/resourceful woman down!

My Clark Kent persona. Glasses and fuzzy hair.

My Clark Kent persona. Glasses and fuzzy hair.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

