Blue roses

Blue rose earrings I created today.

Blue rose earrings I created today.

I created a new pair of earrings today with the slightly modified rose pattern I’d used for some recent rings. Instead of the black, red and green I’d used in the rings, I chose silver, blue and green for the earrings. Blue is my favorite color and the silver background really brightened the personality of the design.

I love the idea of blue roses and while they don’t exist in nature, they’re alive in beading. I was curious to see if there was any meaning surrounding blue roses and sure enough, I found meanings on several websites for every rose color imaginable! I found it all rather interesting actually.

I love the smell and appearance of roses though I haven’t received any in almost a decade. Thankfully I have two rose bushes growing together behind my house and their red and pink flowers bloom all through the summer. When I open my kitchen window I can smell them and they last much longer when I leave them growing on the bushes rather than cutting them.

My favorite description of the meaning of blue roses was found at Rose for Love. There’s several paragraphs about possible symbolism but the section I liked the most stated:

“The blue rose being in itself something very extraordinary expresses that very same feeling. “You are extraordinarily wonderful!” the blue rose exclaims. A truly wonderful personality, almost chimera-like is what the blue rose says about the receiver. A flight of fancy, an irrepressible imagination is what the blue rose is all about.”

I think that sums me up pretty well πŸ˜‰ Now that I know a bit more about blue roses, I better understand why making today’s earrings came so effortlessly and brought me such happiness. I was expressing myself in a tiny piece of artwork made of beads and thread that once complete, caught the light beautifully and shimmered with mysterious brilliance.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

