Freckles and fluff

I say natural beauty is beautiful!

I say natural beauty is beautiful!

I have freckles and my hair has a natural wave that makes it rather fluffy, cocker spaniel like when I let it air dry. If I listened to all the drivel beauty product ads are constantly blabbing at me I’d try covering up all my freckles with foundation for a “flawless finish” and I’d put all sorts of mousse and/or hairspray in my hair to “tame” it. I’d also continue coloring my hair to cover all those “unsightly” gray hairs but I haven’t colored my hair in months as I’m letting the natural, dark color grow back in. I don’t listen to all that junk on TV and in magazines because I believe that natural beauty is actually beautiful!

Why the obsession with making women resemble mannequins? Why should any woman want to be a stiff, untouchable creature whose beauty shatters the moment you touch her? Trying to kiss a woman covered in pounds of makeup makes as much sense as trying to kiss a wet oil painting. No one should smear that crud all over themselves so they can be “pore-free and perfect.”

I love my freckles, every last one! I love my fluffy hair even though I sometimes resemble a grizzly bear in the morning. Yes, I do blow dry my hair sometimes to make it a bit smoother but it retains its natural wave and I have no desire to flatiron it into submission. I love who I am and how I look. I’m not going to slather lotions and potions all over my scars and “imperfections” so I can fit in with today’s ridiculously skewed idea of what beautiful is.

I’m a mother to two little girls and those girls are growing up knowing that their mother is happy with who she is and how she looks and that they’re perfect just how they are. That is beauty, that is elegance and that is timeless grace. You’ll never find that in a bottle!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

7 thoughts on “Freckles and fluff

  1. lookbeyondbeauty says:

    Cool post & you look great! πŸ™‚
    I would love it if you would check out my blog & follow if you like it πŸ™‚ http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

  2. machinegunmama says:

    I have two girls too and am seeing more mixed messages every day that are thrown at her. I grew up HATING my thick thighs an hair (which is just like yours in the pic lol) and that anxiety is something I refuse to pass on. My love has taught me that men actually LOVE ( well, he does) thick thighs like mine and I’ve learned to re love my body through him. Even my favorite life lesson teenager shows the other day had a character exclaim “you can’t get a boyfriend with fat thighs!” Needless to say, I was all over that shit. Great post pretty lady πŸ™‚

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Yes indeed, the people that belong in our lives are those who accept us just as we are and love every part of us! There’s one person who tells me every day that I’m beautiful and that’s me when I look in the mirror πŸ™‚ I make sure my girls know they’re beautiful, amazing, intelligent and fierce. Keep the super mama power going strong πŸ˜‰

  3. Uncle Tree says:

    Amen, li’l sista! πŸ˜‰ Bet I can match you, freckle for freckle.

Say something!

