Orchards and lake

It was lunch time when the girls and I left my childhood home. I asked them what they were hungry for and Jaycie said “grilled cheese” (she could eat that three times a day, I swear) and Jordan wanted a burger. Though I was unplugged from social media, texting and emails, I was still using my phone for GPS. I wanted to show the girls some of Lake Ontario so I searched for restaurants in Sodus Point, found a perfect one and set the navigation to there.

It took us 20 minutes to reach the grill and ice cream place and the drive there was very familiar to me. I’d forgotten just how rural and flat that whole area is! It made me miss the hills and unique character of where I live now. There’s a lot of apple orchards in that area and 104 is the main drag. Several new plazas had popped up in the decades since I’d last been through there but it wasn’t exactly a bustling metropolis.

Once we turned off 104, there wasn’t much to see except orchards until we reached the vicinity of Lake Ontario. I found the restaurant and parked and we could see the lake and feel the strong breezes off of it. I took a picture of the girls and then they each took turns taking pictures of me with them.

Jordan and Jaycie by Lake Ontario in Sodus Point

Jordan and Jaycie by Lake Ontario in Sodus Point

Jaycie and I getting windblown.

Jaycie and I getting windblown.

Jordan and I.

Jordan and I. I so love eating my hair…

We got lunch and enjoyed it inside the dining area of the little ice cream and grill restaurant. It was quite humid but the sun wasn’t out full which kept the temperatures tolerable.

Girls enjoying their lunch.

Girls enjoying their lunch.

When we were finished eating, we walked across the parking lot to the little playground there and the girls tried out a variety of the equipment. Jordan tested every piece there and Jaycie followed after her wanting to be as brave as her older sister.

Jordan wasn't sure she'd fit in that butterfly but...

Jordan wasn’t sure she’d fit in that butterfly but…

She got in it!

She got in it!

Jaycie enjoyed this for about 30 seconds.

Jaycie enjoyed this for about 30 seconds.

Jordan trying the curvy slide.

Jordan trying the curvy slide.

Done at the playground, I suggested we walk down the street a bit to see if there was anything interesting. There wasn’t really, at least not compared to the beauty of Amesbury and Newburyport in Massachusetts. Yes, I’ve been spoiled by the loveliness of New England. The only thing on the street were several restaurants and they all blocked any good views of the water.

Well it's a nice sign anyway.

Well it’s a nice sign anyway.

Visual appeal is a bit lacking.

Visual appeal is a bit lacking.

Hoping to get closer to the water, we got back in the car and drove down to the little beach park. We finally had a great view of the lake…and felt the full force of the wind that was so strong it kept blowing sand at us in a less than gentle manner. We walked up to the lighthouse as we were buffeted by the wind, sand, waves and umm aromatic qualities of Lake Ontario. I saw a mama duck and her babies swimming in and eating the algae and I snapped a picture even as the sight gave me no desire to set foot in the water.

Lighthouse in the distance.

Lighthouse in the distance.

Mama and baby ducks.

Mama and baby ducks.

Islands? in the lake

Islands? in the lake

The only way I could take a picture of the lighthouse without showing the graffiti.

The only way I could take a picture of the lighthouse without showing the graffiti.

Jaycie at the end of the lighthouse point.

Jaycie at the end of the lighthouse point.

This was as far as Jordan would go.

This was as far as Jordan would go.

Heading back as the water, wind and sand "caressed" us.

Heading back as the water, wind and sand “caressed” us.

By the time we got back to the car, we’d seen and smelled more than enough of the lake. The sun was back out and we were all tired so I decided it was time to head back toward home. The uneventful drive back through endless orchards and hill-less country reaffirmed my happiness with my own house in the hills of Honeoye.

Orchards stretching into the horizon.

Orchards stretching into the horizon.

 

It also showed me that the waters that truly make me happy are ocean waters, especially those off the coast of New England. I’d just spent two hours driving in the car and hadn’t seen anything nearly as interesting to me as what I find within 10 minutes of driving in New England. I’m addicted to the wonder, mystery and adventures that I always find in New England and the energy there that invigorates my spirit and heart the way New York can’t anymore. Good thing I’m heading back east next week!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

