Does Not Play Well with Others (re-post)

As it’s rather late in the day and I’m too tired to focus on writing something coherent and interesting, I’m going to re-post a blog entry from the archives on my Corbin Creations website. I don’t want to mess up my entry every day in July streak! This old entry was a good one for me to reread actually as every now and then I lose my way and forget what makes me, what makes all of us, so amazing. You don’t have to follow the pack in this life, you don’t have to play well with others, just be you and blaze your own way!

My sly sideways glance ;)

My sly sideways glance 😉

Does Not Play Well with Others (originally posted 7/10/2012)

Growing up, the teacher comments on my report cards have said various things. “Works well under pressure.” “Needs to participate more.” “Works well independently.” Hmm, perhaps that last one was a nice way of saying that I don’t play well with others. That’s a somewhat harsh interpretation of my personality but it gets the gist. I actually do play well with others and I enjoy being in fun social groups but my inherently shy nature can make it difficult for me to make new friends. On the opposite spectrum of that, when I do open myself up, I tend to reveal too much and it can be a bit overwhelming for potential friends.  I can’t help it, it’s how I am and in order to be my friend you have to understand and accept every unique and quirky piece of me. I don’t believe in keeping parts of my personality secret in order to win more people to my side. All I can ever be is genuine, 100% me.

I may never be hip and up to date on the latest slang and phrases but it’s apparently amusing to be with me and witness everything I don’t know.  People seem to find it difficult to comprehend that a woman my age has limited knowledge of certain things and a naivety that seems to contradict the years I’ve been on this world. Truth is that I’m proud of the innocence I still possess and the optimism in my spirit that life still hasn’t crushed out of me, and never will be taken from me. I still wake every day to the songs of the birds and know that each dawn brings a fresh start and new endless potential. Each and every moment, even the ones that challenge all of us, is a gift to be cherished. Sorrowful tears one moment turn into laughter in the next breath, and the warmth of the sun banishes the coldest and darkest of days. Shine!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

