Friday Morning in Boston

Sun rising over the trees outside my hotel on Friday morning.

Sun rising over the trees outside my hotel on Friday morning.

I woke at 4:30 a.m. on Friday, June 27, 2014, the day I’d chosen for my return to Boston as a solo explorer. I laid in bed for a half hour before giving up the ghost, getting up, showering and dressing for the day ahead. I was eager to get into the city before it got crowded so I could get my bearings. Well, as much as lost me can ever get my bearings.

As taking the commuter rail into Boston last August didn’t end well, I decided to drive to a T station this time and take the subway in from there. When I saw that a couple of the orange line T stations were down and buses were being used, I opted for the blue line instead and drove down to Wonderland Station.

It was an absolutely beautiful morning and as it was barely 6:30 a.m., traffic was pretty light. I found a lot where I could park for $5 all day and my little Matrix was one of only 3 cars there. It was right next to the T station and within moments of parking my car and equipping myself with my trusty black messenger bag, I was standing on the platform, my loaded Charlie card tucked into my back pocket.

I boarded the next inbound subway train and found a seat easily in the nearly empty car. The car got more crowded as people entered at each stop and I’m pretty sure I was the only one on the T truly happy to be there. I took pictures at the Airport Station and didn’t care if I looked like a tourist. I think I’d love the ride even if I did it every day for work!

View inside the Airport T Station

View inside the Airport T Station

I’d decided to take the T into the Aquarium Station because I knew it was near Faneuil Hall/Quincy Marketplace and I was very familiar with the whole Long Wharf area from my past three trips into Boston.

T Station map at the Aquarium stop

T Station map at the Aquarium stop

I got off at my destination and took the multiple escalators up to the street. When I got to the top, a friendly gentleman who’d been behind me asked “Do you need help? You look lost?” I smiled and said “No, thank you, I’m good. I always look lost.” He returned my smile and exited to the street while I inwardly wondered if a warning went out through Boston that lost Julie was on her way in for a visit…

Once out on the street, I grinned happily as I saw the huge clocktower rising into the morning sky proclaiming the time as barely 7 a.m. The clock was actually a bit slow but I took a picture anyway to make the occasion.

clocktower morning

I walked around a bit, refamiliarizing myself with the area and I found a handy dandy map I don’t remember seeing before. I took a picture in case I needed it later but then totally forgot I took the picture so it really didn’t help. It’s the thought that counts I suppose.

Map of Long Wharf

Map of Long Wharf

My next order of business was finding some breakfast as I’d only eaten a cookie on the drive to Wonderland Station. I heard a couple of tourists on rented bikes ask the cashiers at the Boston Harbor Cruises where they could find coffee and she suggested a Dunkin Donuts around the corner or a Starbucks further down. I watched the direction they rode off in and walked that way at a leisurely pace.

I don’t think I’d walked that way before and if I had I totally missed the dolphin sculpture/statue standing, well I guess it’d be swimming, there. It looked quite lovely in the morning sunlight and the date on it said 1977 so it was a timeless classic the same age as myself.

Dolphin sculpture

Dolphin sculpture and the morning sky in Boston

I continued on and found the Dunkin Donuts but the line stretching outside the door made me decide to look elsewhere for food. I headed to Quincy Market hoping there was someone open serving breakfast. I found several delivery trucks lined up outside the long narrow building and I thought it was very cool that I was early enough to see such beginning of the day routines.

Delivery trucks outside Quincy Market

Delivery trucks outside Quincy Market

I slipped inside the open doors avoiding men with dolly carts full of supplies and the aroma of food met my nose. I looked down the almost completely empty hall in wonder knowing that within a few hours it would be packed with hungry customers.

Deserted hallway looking one way

Deserted hallway looking one way

Deserted hallway looking the other way

Deserted hallway looking the other way.

As I stood in the center below the large dome of the building, I was treated to lovely music played by a young man at one of the “Play Me, I’m Yours” pianos located in the Market. He was very good and I took a few pictures while trying to avoid him noticing I was taking pictures. I didn’t care if I looked like a tourist, the music was lovely and deserving of recognition.

guy playing piano

Man playing piano.

My stomach growled reminding me why I was there so I set off down the hallways in search of someplace with a breakfast menu. A simple thing like eating breakfast is never a simple thing with me and that tale must wait until tomorrow.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

