Gorgeous Glistening Goddesses

Fiery me, fashion-forward Deb and creative Kathi represented as Goddesses. Image courtesy of VegaColors at DeviantArt

Fiery me, fashion-forward Deb and creative Kathi represented as Goddesses. Image courtesy of VegaColors at DeviantArt

When I arrived at the hotel for my latest trip to New England, I went about unpacking in the nice air-conditioned room. Once I’d driven out of the rain, the day had become hot, humid and sunny which left me feeling a bit bedraggled. After unpacking, I showered and felt much refreshed and ready to head out on some evening adventures.

I’m always pulled to Amesbury on my trips so I obeyed that pull and drove the 10-minute drive south from Seabrook, NH to my favorite little Massachusetts town/city. I parked my car in the lot by Crave like usual and then walked up main street breathing it all in. There wasn’t much of a breeze and the humidity was quite oppressive but I was still overjoyed to be back in Amesbury!

I walked up to Parke Place Boutique to see if the owner Deb was there and when I peeked inside I saw her and Kathi, the owner of Attentif’ Design relaxing and chatting. I was surprised their stores were still open at that hour on a Wednesday evening so I stepped inside and was happily greeted by both of them. That right there made my night! In NY, I’m basically a recluse with no local friends who spends most of her time with her dog. I live a good life but it’s not exactly exciting. That all changes when I return to Amesbury!

I sat and chatted with Deb and Kathi for a while and learned that they were both still open because they didn’t have anywhere else particularly important to be that evening. The subject of dinner eventually came up and as I hadn’t eaten anything in a while, I was very interested in a meal. It was decided they’d close up their stores and we’d walk up to Barking Dog Bar & Grill for food and that sounded divine to me!

I hadn’t eaten at the Barking Dog yet during my visits to Amesbury so it was obviously overdue. I enjoyed talking with Deb and Kathi and feeling like a social human being instead of a writing hermit. Deb, Kathi and I are all at slightly different stages of our lives but I didn’t feel out of place at all with them, in fact I felt very welcome and relaxed. We’re all strong, powerful, tenacious and determined women after all, goddesses in our own right. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was energetic and it was a great re-introduction into a social life for me.

During the conversation, the topic of the humidity and heat came up and the word “sweaty” was uttered. To which I said what my mother had always told me “Women don’t sweat, we glisten.” Glisten is a far lovelier word than sweat and as women are the lovelier gender, it makes perfect sense 😉 As the evening continued, the term “glisten” and “glistening” when referring to women perspiring came from the mouths of a few other people and I felt that to be an affirmation from the universe itself that it’s true wisdom.

When Deb, Kathi and I finished our meal and walked back down the street toward their shops, we were an impressive, beautiful and laughing trio of Gorgeous Glistening Goddesses, the likes of which Amesbury was truly fortunate to behold!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Gorgeous Glistening Goddesses

  1. thebagpage says:

    I came across this blog post and it’s so funny because the name of my business is Glistening Goddesses and I’m in New England!

Say something!

