Jovial Julie, Road Warrior

A little rain, or even downpours, aren't enough to stop me.

A little rain, or even downpours, aren’t enough to stop me.

I thought I’d continue my movie-themed blog titles with a play on the Mad Max Road Warrior flicks from the 80’s. I’ve been driving to New England pretty regularly for a year now and I do consider myself something of a road warrior. I definitely don’t need GPS to find my way anymore and I even though I’ve driven the route many times, I look forward to every single trip!

Unlike my first trip to New England in November of 2011, I now have packing down to a system, everything fits in my car and I can still see out the back window and I even know where to stop on the thruway and expressway for decent food that isn’t McDonald’s. I always need some breakfast and a jolt of caffeine to start me on my trip so I stop at the Dunkin’ Donuts near the dog boarders before I hop on the thruway. I grab a nice big hot or iced coffee, a breakfast sandwich that holds me for 2-3 hours and hit the road!

I stop every couple of hours to stretch my legs and do other important things and during those stops I often make interesting observations. I get behind couples in line who can’t decide what they want and stand there saying ” What do you want?” “I don’t know, what do you want?” I want to suggest they grow a backbone and be decisive instead of overly complacent but that would be rude. Instead I just stand behind them and roll my eyes until their wishy-washy shared brain makes a selection. I know what I want and when I want it and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that!

By now I expect foul weather of some kind during my drive out to New England. I’ve driven through everything including ice storms, blizzards and torrential downpours that slowed traffic to a crawl. I bless my reliable little Matrix and the powers that be for getting me through all kinds of weather and keeping my driving skills sharp. This last trip I drove through several bouts of heavy rain but I was prepared with a brand new set of wipers that did their job splendidly!

Rain drops on the windshield don't ruin the lovely view!

Rain drops on the windshield don’t ruin the lovely view!

I’m grateful for cruise control as I can rest my legs a bit as I navigate through traffic. Somewhere along the way I usually encounter stop and go traffic which isn’t enjoyable in a stick shift car but I make it through. I love watching the change of scenery and the increasing hills as I head east toward Massachusetts. A majority of the drive through NY isn’t overly spectacular but there are some sections like the Mohawk Valley that are breathtaking through all seasons. Seeing the “Massachusetts Welcomes You!” sign always makes me smile happily and I take in a deep breath as I return to a place that feels like home to me.

Time flies on my way out to New England as I think of all the adventures that await me and enjoy every moment of the drive. Well, all of them except the white-knuckle ones through bad weather. Every trip brings new experiences, life lessons and a reminder why I’ve become and remain Jovial Julie, Road Warrior!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Jovial Julie, Road Warrior

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Good for you! I love driving (so I should, given my day job), and I love travelling both to familiar destinations and to new places. I’m quite happy to do it alone, although often I have hubby with me. We have a routine about packing, eating, and sharing the drive. When I’m on my own, I have my own single person routine. One of my fave journeys I often do alone is to visit my best friend in the Highlands. I get to travel through great scenery, and I know there a glass of wine waiting at the end of it! πŸ™‚

Say something!

