Drinking mud

I think the color of the vintage Tupperware cup enhances the whole mud look

I think the color of the vintage Tupperware cup enhances the whole mud look

Okay, I don’t really drink mud but I have started drinking healthy smoothies and once they’re all mixed up they kind of resemble mud. That’s exactly how I expect a mix of kale, spinach, soy milk, strawberries, pineapple, watermelon and chocolate protein powder to look. Admittedly, the chocolate protein powder gives it that brown shade but everything else in it gives it the muddy consistency. I like the chocolate powder stuff so I live with the brown and overall it tastes pretty good once you get past the green flecks of ground up kale and spinach.

In my freelance writing, I often research health topics and have read about the benefits of smoothies and kale. I haven’t gone all “kale crazy” though, I only drink that smoothie concoction for breakfast and do my best to eat healthy the rest of the day. I see all sorts of posts from super healthy, hard body chicks raving about their smoothies and salads and posting pictures. Yay for them and their healthy lifestyle but if all I lived on were smoothies and salad, it might get ugly. I love my chocolate and my meat and yes, even an evil carb here and there! As I’ve said before, I don’t want to be a hard body, I want to be a curvaceous healthy chick.

My recent shift back into healthier eating is due in part to my new tattoo. I love my new tattoo and think it’s amazingly sexy so I’d like my body to help enhance that look. My arms have always been one of my least favorite parts and my new ink makes me rededicated to improving them. Plus I figured eating healthier will help it heal faster and so far it seems to be working. Once my ink is all done molting and such I’ll write a post about adjusting to it.

Along with drinking a smoothie for breakfast, I’ve also started drinking Dr. Oz’s grapefruit and apple cider vinegar drink before every meal. It’s part of his “Swimsuit Slimdown Plan” and the recipe for it is 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar added to 1 cup of grapefruit juice. The plan also suggests eating a salad of dandelion greens which isn’t for me because I basically do that every time I weedwhack and it’s nasty! I’ve read various comments from people about the drink, many of whom say it’s “refreshing”  “a nice citrus treat” and “makes them want to eat better.” For me, it tastes disgusting and burns all the way down but I’m growing accustomed to it and it burns less each time I drink it. I don’t see how drinking vinegar is ever going to taste “refreshing” but to each their own.

I’ve only been doing the smoothie and grapefruit drink thing for a few days now but my body has adjusted and the smoothie is enough to fill me up until lunch. I don’t know if the grapefruit concoction is doing anything aside filling me with tons of Vitamin C and vinegar but I’ll keep it up for curiosity’s sake. For exercise I’ve been doing push ups, bicep and tricep curls, crunches and walking Jazzmin. I was going to go back to doing DVD workouts but haven’t found that motivation yet among the heat and humidity. Hopefully soon!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Drinking mud

  1. Yeah, I get it. Due to some problems with my metabolism (my thyroid was destroyed with radioactive iodine almost 20 years ago), I’m on a geneto-type diet. Smoothies full of greens are a staple. Thank God, my daughter bought me a Vitamix which eliminates the bits of leaves you get with a traditional blender. But the mud color remains, so I have colored freezer mugs that make the drink look pink or purple. Gotta trick my senses. LOL!

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Yikes, that sucks about your thyroid! Glad the smoothies help you though =) I’m actually using the smoothie maker my mom bought me to make margaritas lol. It works pretty well and reduces the chunks to manageable levels. I looked at better machines but decided mine works just peachy within my budget 🙂 Great idea with the colored mugs! I might try that….

Say something!

