Bountiful Birthday Happiness

Cards from the girls and picture by Jordan

Cards from the girls and picture by Jordan

Yesterday was my 37th birthday. That’s right, I’m not ashamed to admit my age! It’s just a number anyway. I believe that you’re only as old as you feel and most of the time I still feel somewhere between 16 and 21. My body disagrees with me sometimes but eventually we reach a happy middle ground.

After I got my freelance writing done for the day, I took Jazz for a walk and then worked on a beading project. My friend from Japan was kind enough to feed my beading addiction with a large gift of Miyuki delica seed beads and they’d been calling my name!

These are like priceless treasure to me!

These are like priceless treasure to me!

Jaycie wants to give her teacher an owl pendant so I’ve been trying to create one. I’m starting attempt number 3 but that’s a story for a different day.

Owl pendant first attempt

Owl pendant first attempt

As per the divorce agreement, my ex and I each get my daughters on our birthdays and I was quite happy to have them on an afternoon and evening when they’d usually go their father’s. I picked Jordan up from school, we grabbed a few groceries, went home to relax for a bit and then headed out to school again to pick up Jaycie. By 4pm, I had a full house with my girls, my mom and our circus of animals.

I made my own birthday dinner which was fine by me. I enjoyed grilling out on the nice day and watching the birds go about their business. My local hummingbird strongly approves of my homemade nectar and frequented my feeder multiple times yesterday, much to my delight! He’s getting more used to me because he now comes to the feeder hanging on the swing even when I’m sitting in the swing. I haven’t been able to take any good pictures yet, but I will eventually!

For dessert we had ice cream cake which was delicious! Jaycie ate her entire piece for the first time instead of only eating the vanilla ice cream part. I nearly licked my plate but managed to resist. After dessert, the girls gave me their presents which consisted of two beautiful Audubon Bird Society cards with hand-written messages and a colored pencil drawing by Jordan of a few of my favorite birds. I felt so very blessed and filled with happiness! Nothing compares to a handmade, heartfelt gift from the ones you love.

Loving birthday wishes from the girls.

Loving birthday wishes from the girls.

Yesterday flew by so fast it was dark before I knew it! I feel the days will continue such a quick pace as summer nears and I embark on further adventures. At the end of this month I return to Amesbury, MA just in time for Amesbury Days, the event that marked my first official visit to the city/town last year. I can’t believe it’s been a year already! I really must find that slow motion button on life someday…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

4 thoughts on “Bountiful Birthday Happiness

  1. Peekiequeen says:

    A very Happy Belated Birthday JulieAnn. Glad you had such a wonderful day. Cheers!

  2. Phil Taylor says:

    Happy Birthday JulieAnn!

Say something!

