A beautiful Mother’s Day

My daughters and our pup Jazzmin

My daughters and our pup Jazzmin

It was an absolutely beautiful day today! The sun was shining, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky, it was in the mid 70’s and there weren’t tornadic winds messing things about. Truly one of the nicest Mother’s Day that I can remember!

I started my day sleeping in a bit and then hanging with my daughters inside and outside just enjoying the lovely day. Mama Nature sent three male rose-breasted grosbeaks to my feeders this morning which was quite surprising! I’ve only ever seen one before but today three came off and on and they all hung together eating without any sort of squabbling. I imagine their mates were home seating on eggs and I do hope the males were kind enough to pack a doggy bag of seeds for the special ladies in their lives.

My three male rose-breasted grosbeaks

My three male rose-breasted grosbeaks

My daughters made me wonderful gifts for Mother’s Day! Jordan drew me a picture of sparrows and gave me a box of chocolates and Jaycie had made me a bouquet of paper flowers and an adorable card. I always love their tokens of affection but truly my daughters themselves are the greatest gifts I’ve ever received and just having them in my life makes me complete.

After breakfast, I donned the fringed seed bead earrings I completed yesterday and started on a smaller version as a gift for my mother. I had the window open as I worked and the birds serenaded me with their happy songs and chirps as they frolicked in the bird oasis garden nearby. I had my mom’s earring finished by the time the girls and I headed to her house this afternoon.

Fringe earrings I made for myself

Fringe earrings I made for myself

Fringe earrings I made for my mom

Fringe earrings I made for my mom

I indulged in one of my favorite past times, a bath, at my mom’s and we went out and brought back chicken for dinner so none of us had to cook. It was nice just being together and relaxing and I was blissfully happy all day long. My mom, myself and my daughters all posed for a picture out on her sun porch and out of at least 10 pictures, we got a few good ones. We even did a picture with my oldest brother in it so we have visual evidence that we were all together on this special day.

Three generations!

Three generations!

Posing with Uncle Tim

Posing with Uncle Tim

Once the girls and I returned home, I asked them to pose by one of my lilac bushes in the back yard. The lilacs are just starting to bloom and smell fragrantly sweet and I felt my biggest bush would be the perfect background. I also thought it would be good to get Jazzmin in the picture since I’m her mama too. The best picture is at the top of this post and the one at the end of this post shows how hard it is to get a dog to look at the camera when you’re not holding a treat of some kind. Overall it was a blessed day and I loved every moment!

Jazzmin was much more interested in the field than the camera...

Jazzmin was much more interested in the field than the camera…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

