Celebrating my father’s spirit

My father relaxing on top of Rocky Mount in the Adirondacks.

My father relaxing on top of Rocky Mount in the Adirondacks.

Today is my father’s birthday. He would have been 73 year’s old. He passed away over 4 years ago but there are still times I can’t believe he’s gone.

I still honor his birthday as a celebration of his life and of the spirit he has become. I strongly believe his spirit is with me at some point every day and I’m eternally grateful for his continuing strength.

I’m also grateful that this year I wasn’t out working at an office job on his birthday. Working from home as I do, I was able to arrange my schedule as I wanted and get all my work done so I could just relax and enjoy some quiet time doing what I love. I know that’s what my father would want me to do on his birthday, pursue happiness.

For a couple of hours this afternoon I sat at my craft table working on earrings with the room window open. I could hear the happy bubbling of the fountain, chirping of the birds and rustling of the breeze and I felt amazingly content and at peace. Jewelry making and learning bead stitches is the most effective form of meditation I’ve ever discovered. I’m not worrying about anything and I’m not stressed, I’m just focused on learning, discovering and creating. I imagine that’s how my father felt when he was doing his woodworking and it’s bittersweet that we share such a connection now after his passing.

I invited my mother over for picnic food and my father’s favorite birthday dessert of spice cake. Jaycie was swinging and Jordan and I were tossing a frisbee in the glorious sunshine when my mom arrived. I grilled outside on my deck and dinner was delicious. We all devoured a good portion of the spice cake (in my father’s honor of course) and had a wonderful evening together. My father was proud and happy, I’m certain of that!

Chocolate frosted spice cake

Chocolate frosted spice cake

 

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Celebrating my father’s spirit

Say something!

