Blessings on Bird Wings – Part 2

Rainbow shining down on my bird oasis.

Rainbow shining down on my bird oasis.

It’s been several days since I created my wild bird oasis and it’s received ample daily winged traffic! I’ve seen all my usual feathered friends and some new attendees including a rose-breasted grosbeak and a few varieties of sparrows. The only birds causing trouble are the grackles but they’ve learned to fly off when I come outside or knock on my kitchen window. My issue with the grackles is that they scare all the other birds away and eat like flying pigs. I’m quite sure they can find food elsewhere so I shoo them.

Transforming my humble backyard bird feeder spot to a wild bird oasis wasn’t overly strenuous but it did involve properly assembling the bird bath fountain I bought. The original look of my bird feeder and bird bath is quite plain when compared to now. I’d left a dead sunflower out there because the birds used it as a perch but with the addition of some fence and new feeders, I knew they’d have plenty of spots to perch.

Single feeder, leaking birdbath and box for new bath

Single feeder, leaking birdbath and box for new bath

I was so proud of myself when I got it all together, plugged it in and the water started flowing through it just as pictured! Finding a mostly level spot was a challenge but when I set it up with the basin leaning into the rigid bird feeder hook, it was level enough to prevent water from flowing out.

Yay! The water is flowing!

Yay! The water is flowing!

While I was working on installing all the new parts of the oasis, a chickadee kept flying by rather impatiently wondering where the feeder had gone. I finally set the feeder up a ways off on a short hook and he then went happily over there to eat.

Small barn feeder in the background, set there temporarily for the chickadee

Small barn feeder in the background, set there temporarily for the chickadee

The complete bird oasis puts the original setup to shame but I’m not quite done yet. I plan on putting down mulch and containers of flowers within the fence so it’s a lovely mini garden as well as bird oasis. I didn’t get the plants yet because they wouldn’t fit in the cart with the bird bath but I’ll be adding them soon!

Oasis all set up

Oasis all set up

I couldn't resist this barrel bird house. No one is using it yet though.

I couldn’t resist this barrel bird house. No one is using it yet though.

I briefly entertained the idea of putting in butterfly attracting flowers but upon realizing the butterflies would become bird food, I nixed that idea. Some genius ideas aren’t really that bright…

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

