Blessings on Bird Wings – Part 1

My feeders filled with finches, chickadees and sparrows.

My feeders filled with finches, chickadees and sparrows.

I love watching the birds at my back feeder. It’s a daily reminder of how blessed I am and how precious life is. Watching the birds has taught me new levels of patience, observation and silence. I’ve learned so much by just being still and allowing nature to continue in its normal routine around me.

As I eagerly looked forward to spring a few months ago, I had the neat idea to transform my little bird feeder area into something more. As the snow continued to fly, I imagined creating a little fenced in garden at the base of my bird feeders so that I could look at lovely flowers and my feathered friends from my kitchen window. A framed garden also means not having to mow so close to the feeder pole that I whack my head.

Well I’m still waiting for spring to actually arrive and stick around in Upstate NY but yesterday I decided to set my plan in motion. I felt I could at least get a new fountain style bird bath and a second shepherd’s hook for hanging more of my feeders in one central location. I found exactly what I needed running errands yesterday and got some great ideas for flowers once I figure out how my little garden design.

I’ll explain the process of my new arrangement in a later post (hence the Part 1) but for this post, I thought showing pictures of my feathered friends would be more fun. A picture is worth a thousand words as they say and I figure a video must be worth about a million for demonstrating exactly how my birds reacted to the new birdie oasis. If you don’t want to watch the whole video, just skip ahead to 1:16 to see proof that sitting still and watching has amazing rewards!

The male cardinal landed but wasn't sure about the new set up...

The male cardinal landed but wasn’t sure about the new set up…

He's still not sure and eventually flew off.

He’s still not sure and eventually flew off.

A male finch investigates and then lands. Followed soon by his friends.

The goldfinches were only a little bit hesitant at first, then they dug in!

finch scope2 flurry of finches

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Blessings on Bird Wings – Part 1

  1. I too love to watch my birds on their feeder. They are always happy, they always show up, and they sing the most beautiful songs.

  2. Peekiequeen says:

    So lovely! What a perfect view of Springtime. Thanks for sharing JulieAnn.

Say something!

