Answering the Amesbury question

Amesbury sign

Usually when I meet someone new in Amesbury, MA during my visits and they learn I’m from Upstate NY they’re quite surprised and often ask what brings me to Amesbury. I’ve fallen in love with Amesbury because it’s so much lovelier than where I live. There’s far more plentiful opportunities for entertainment, business, recreation, dining and shopping in Amesbury than the town I live in.

Don’t get me wrong, there are aspects of my local town I appreciate. The best parts of where I live are my little house on the hill with a view straight across the valley and the local school system. K-12 is in one modestly-sized building, the class sizes are quite small and they’re extremely helpful accommodating Jaycie’s special needs due to her developmental delays. The school and community work together to keep the art, music and sports programs alive and I know how wonderful that is. The total property taxes I pay on my 960 square foot, $99,000 assessed home on 1.4 acres are around $2000 which is extremely reasonable for New York.

My local school

My local school

A huge downside of where I live is that there’s nothing to do that interests me for miles. Even driving 45 minutes into the city of Rochester doesn’t offer the opportunities I enjoy in Amesbury, MA and other New England towns. My nearest places of interest are the local mall or plazas and strip malls. That’s not what I call fun. The “character” of the town I live in is completely different from Amesbury’s character so I realize I’m comparing black walnuts (tons of those dirty trees around here) to apple cider donuts (a New England fave) but perhaps by sharing some photos, my love of Amesbury will make more sense.

Downtown Amesbury, MA

Downtown Amesbury, MA

Downtown where I live. The main plaza with CVS, Subway and the grocery store

My local downtown. The main plaza with CVS, Subway and the grocery store

One of the main intersections in Amesbury, MA

One of the main intersections in Amesbury, MA

Main intersection in town where I live

My main local intersection. Several defunct businesses

Library in Amesbury, MA

Library in Amesbury, MA

My local library

My local library

 

Powwow River Falls in downtown Amesbury, MA

Powwow River Falls in downtown Amesbury, MA

My local downtown creek

My local downtown creek

So when I’m wandering wide-eyed around Amesbury (as I do every single visit) perhaps it will come as less of a surprise. When I rave about the unique businesses in downtown Amesbury, it’s because the downtown where I come from has few open stores. In NY, when a downtown goes downhill, it rarely recovers. Empty main street storefronts remain that way as big box retail stores, strip malls and chain restaurants move in to undermine local businesses. NY gas prices are 20-25 cents higher per gallon than in MA and we’re heavily taxed on nearly everything.

I love Amesbury, MA and while I’m certain living there has its challenges, I choose to focus on the positive aspects of the area and highlight what a beautiful place it is and everything it has to offer. I’ll be making another visit starting this coming Wednesday and I’m certain I’ll discover even more to adore about the greatest little city town in New England.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

