The Serenity of Birds

Male goldfinch on my feeder hanger.

Male goldfinch on my feeder hanger.

I walked Jazz the different direction we’ve been going lately and it wasn’t the best time of day for it. The weather was beautiful with warm sunshine and bright blue sky, but the traffic was awful. The road we walked is the main drag to and from the school and at 4 p.m. it’s excessively busy with cars and trucks going 55+ mph. There’s a shoulder Jazz and I can duck into most of the way but the roar of cars going by interfered with the enjoyment of the walk.

Jazzmin and I got our exercise in but the walk wasn’t as relaxing as usual and I was quite relieved to get back home to my quiet house on the hill. I put Jazz inside with some fresh water and went out on the deck to sit in the sunshine and re-center myself. As I sat on the rear steps of my side deck, I reveled in the lack of traffic noise. The only “noise” in fact was the sound of the various bird songs as my feathered friends fluttered around the back yard.I recognized the songs of chickadees, cardinals, finches, sparrows, red-winged blackbirds and the elusive bluebird that refuses to eat  from my feeder.

Most of the birds were hesitant to come to my back feeders with me sitting within 15 feet of them but the brave chickadee came and went several times.Eventually a male goldfinch landed atop the shepherds hook holding my red barn feeder and he watched me for a bit before flitting down for some seeds. He didn’t stay long before flying into a side tree where I’d been listening to and watching a male cardinal sing one of his many songs. There was another cardinal answering him in the distance and I smiled at him and assured him that it was safe to eat.

He landed but was still cautious...

He landed but was still cautious…

He's keeping his eye on me...

He’s keeping his eye on me…

Decided it's safe to eat and the chickadee is waiting in line below him.

Decided it’s safe to eat and the chickadee is waiting in line below him.

The best part of sitting on those steps in the sunshine watching the birds was that I’d remembered to bring my camera out with me. Every time a bird would land on my feeder I’d pick up my camera and snap a photo or two. The zoom is decent enough from that distance to show details of the birds and I was thrilled that so many members of my usual “peeps” were dropping by for a bite. I rediscovered my peace as I enjoyed the serenity of birds and I know I’d be lost without their daily visits!

A small sample of my usual peeps.

A small sample of my usual peeps.

Can you spot the sparrow?

Can you spot the sparrow?

After the last of the birds flew off for a break, I stood up from my step and saw the moon in the bright blue sky. I also realized that my largest maple tree appears to be on the verge of sprouting leaves and that made me almost giddy! It’s so wonderful that spring is finally, truly on its way and that I managed to capture today’s beauty as a ray of sunshine on the rainy days.

spring moon

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

3 thoughts on “The Serenity of Birds

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Lovely! I think we call some of these different names here in the UK. It does start to feel properly like spring when the birds start making an appearance again. 🙂

Say something!

