Runoffs and rescues

IMAG0985

It was a beautiful, sunny day today so after finishing the morning’s errands, I took Jazzmin for a walk. We went a different way today to explore new areas and familiarize Jazz with other surroundings. The foot of snow that fell this past Sunday has almost completely melted into a distant memory/nightmare and the local streams are swollen with thawing runoff. The sound of rushing water can be heard no matter what direction I head and I welcome it as a sign of spring.

IMAG0988 IMAG0984

Another sign of spring is the re-emergence of the woolly bear caterpillars. The batch that’s out now will turn into big furry moths as the weather warms up but until then, they’re busy crossing roads again. I only saw one on my walk today but I was able to rescue him. It felt quite wonderful to have these small, living creatures crawling along my hand again before I set them down safely out of the road. It’s amazing the sensations I’ve missed while being cooped up inside all winter.

woolly bear caterpillar

I opened my kitchen window to let the fresh air in and watched the birds eat the seed from my backyard feeders. The blue sky, warmth and sunshine are doing wonders to recharge my body, mind and spirit and offer proof once again that winter never lasts forever.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

