The lions of March

image

There’s that saying “March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb.” It’s usually in reference to the weather, but for me it’s effected me inside more than outside.

The last day of February I came down with a cold, my first cold of the entire winter season. I’ve had colds before, I’m familiar with and can handle the constant sneezing, coughing, nose blowing and proverbial trail of kleenex I leave in my wake. What I was unprepared for was waking up this past Friday morning with a horrible earache and partial deafness in my left ear.

I took some ibuprofen to dull the pain and as I’ve dealt with plugged ears before, I knew it would unplug eventually. Unfortunately, by the end of the day I felt worse and by Saturday, I knew continuing to hope for the best might not be the wisest course. So I drove myself to urgent care, was told my ear wasn’t infected (thankfully!) and left with a prescription for antibiotics. Once home I took more pain meds, my prescription and went back to bed, the place I’d been spending much of my time since Friday morning.

Despite my discomfort, I know how fortunate I am that I work from home and am able to rest as needed. I’ve managed to get work done because I can sit down somewhere comfortable to do it and don’t have to worry about making anyone else sick. Even so, I’m not getting done as much as I’d planned for March.

I’d planned to make March my lion month, my month to roar and get things done! Write about more Amesbury businesses, work on my clay projects, expand my freelance writing, start spring cleaning and so on. Alas, I’ve been too tired to focus on much of that and I fear I’m falling behind. I can catch up, I’m tenacious and determined enough to, but first I need to get well.

Today I woke feeling more human and functional than I have in several days and for that I’m truly grateful! I’m still moving a bit slower than usual, Jazz seems worried I’m dying and ibuprofen is my best friend but I know I’m on the road to recovery. Every improvement, even minor ones, are major victories. Even so, I’ve dealt with enough lions of March and I’m ready for some nice, fuzzy lambs!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

3 thoughts on “The lions of March

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Aaww, what rotten luck – hopefully you’re on the mend now! xx

  2. Gede Prama says:

    I really like and very inspired… 🙂

Say something!

