Energy and movement

It’s been rather difficult to stay warm lately. Bundled under blankets, gathered around heaters, covered in layers and there are still parts of me that have trouble thawing. One highly effective way I’ve found to warm up and even break a sweat in this frigid cold is by working out. Five minutes into my Les Mills Combat workout, I’m so warm I’ve stripped down to shorts and a tank when only moments ago I was in yoga pants, tank and sweatshirt. After that comes a nice hot shower and I’m sufficiently thawed for at least a few hours.

In the evenings it’s a bit harder to stay warm when the sun has gone down, if it even bothered to show up for the day. Last night drinking wine and painting warmed me up but tonight I’m going to partake in something different. No wine and no painting but lots of music and movement…through dancing.

I have been doing what I now term “living room dancing” since I was a teenager when I’d dance around in my room to my favorite up tempo songs of the time. Some of my earliest favorites were Mr. Vain by Culture Beat, Be My Lover by La Bouche and Rhythm of the Night by Corona. If you don’t know those songs and are curious, check out YouTube. My musical tastes include much more than dance music but it’s still my favorite genre because it always fills me with energy, lifts my mood and makes me want to move!

So tonight I shall indulge in my living room dancing and I’m quite certain that I’ll be warm, energized and happy. No one has witnessed my dancing in person aside from my girls in many years and they might be my only audience from now on but that’s okay. I do it to restore my inner glow, rejuvenate my spirit and this time of year, thaw my frozen appendages.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

