Girl Power!

Jaycie ready for battle!

Jaycie ready for battle!

I think being the mother of two daughters has made me an even stronger believer in girl power. Over the past few years, I’ve discovered just how strong I am as a woman and I do my best to teach and encourage self-confidence, courage and strength in my girls. Every day I see new evidence that they were born with great strength already and I feel it’s my job to help them unlock their full potential and realize the amazing things they’re capable of.

I recently started a new workout program called Les Mills Combat and I’m thoroughly enjoying it! There’s just something immensely empowering about kicking and punching imaginary opponents. Not only is it great exercise, it’s very therapeutic!

This morning Jaycie found the boxing gloves that came with the workout and put them on. They’re size small but even so, too big on my hands. They fit her about the same but I could tell by the grin on her face that she felt that same tingle of girl power I get when I wear them. There’s no denying Jaycie’s unique strength and I have complete faith that she’ll come into her own and make a significant difference in this world.

My oldest daughter, Jordan had her first semi-formal middle school dance tonight. Friday nights she’s always with her father so I told her I’d go down to the school and wait for her to arrive so I could take some pictures. This idea obviously didn’t thrill her but as her mother, I do occasionally invoke the right to embarrass her.

When Jordan arrived with Jaycie and her father, she was adorable! Er, I mean, a pretty young woman. I found myself wondering where my baby girl went and desperately wanting her back! I know that I can’t stop time though so I embraced the moment, snapped a couple of pictures and tried not to dote too much.

Jordan all dressed up!

Jordan all dressed up!

Jaycie was dancing along to the music coming from the gym and she’s so tall that if she’d been wearing a dress, she probably could have snuck right in without anyone knowing she’s only seven and not eleven or twelve.

Jordan joined her girl friends and went off to have fun and I resisted the urge to tell her for the hundredth time to stop slouching. Perhaps she needs to put on those magical combat gloves and learn how to punch, kick and fully unleash her untapped girl power!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Girl Power!

  1. Kelsey says:

    I don’t have kids and don’t know if I ever will, but the funny thing is, growing up, I always wanted boys.

    It’s probably because I am a girl (and a difficult one, at that), and I never wanted to raise another version of myself. But the more I think about it – and read experiences like yours – I want at least one girl to bring into this world and raise to be smart, strong, and assertive.

    Anyway, your post just made me smile and think about girl power and feminism and its impact on society. Thanks!

Say something!

