The Sweetest Gifts

The owl from Jordan and the pencil holder from Jaycie.

The owl from Jordan and the pencil holder from Jaycie.

The sweetest gifts aren’t made of chocolate and they can’t be bought. The sweetest gifts are those created in love and crafted by hand. I received two such amazing gifts from each of my daughters recently.

On Christmas morning, my oldest daughter Jordan gave me a stuffed red and green owl that she’d cut out and sewn by hand without using a pattern. I was so touched, tears welled in my eyes. She has a true talent for sewing and is mostly self-taught and it was such a thoughtful and sweet gift! She knows how much I love owls and I put that soft, felt owl on my desk where it always makes me smile.

This past Monday when I picked Jaycie up from school she told me in a very excited tone that she’d made a gift for me even though it was months before my birthday. She said it was fragile and wrapped in newspaper. She was eager to give it to me but I suggested we wait until we got home rather than open it in the car. Luckily, we live less than five minutes from school, so Jaycie didn’t have to wait long.

The moment we walked in the door of my house, Jaycie fished the present out of her backpack. It was well-wrapped in newspaper and scotch tape and she said she’d put extra tape on it to keep it safe. I said she did an excellent job! When I finally unwrapped the contents from its two layers of newspaper, the sight of a hanging pencil holder made out of clay greeted me. It was a glossy red color and imprinted with hearts and other geometric shapes. Jaycie was so proud of the piece and I praised her beautiful work. She suggested I hang it on the fridge but I was worried it would break so I opted to set it on a shelf in the living room until we find a better spot.

My daughters are the sweetest gifts I can ever hope to possess in this world. They are my biggest blessings and my strongest motivation. With them, I am complete and together we are a formidable female force!

 

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

