“You sunk my battleship!”

Anyone who has ever played the Hasbro game called Battleship or seen the commercials for it, is familiar with the line “You sunk my battleship!” I myself played the game quite a bit growing up and even into my adult years. I’m not the best at strategy but luck was on my side sometimes and I’d win.

That line takes on a whole new meaning now that I’ve watched the movie entitled Battleship that was very loosely based on that simple game of peg boards and plastic battleships, aircraft carriers and other military ships. If not for it being HBO’s free preview weekend, I probably never would have watched the movie but as it was on today, I decided to give it a shot. I admit that I liked it. Then again, I’m the girl who loves movies like Pacific Rim and John Carter when other people think they’re too far-fetched to be enjoyable.

As I was watching the movie, I kept thinking how much my father would have enjoyed it. The whole idea of military battleships fighting off huge alien crafts would have just made his day! The part where they fired up the USS Missouri and used it in the last battle probably would have made him bounce out of his seat like a giddy schoolboy! It’s the kind of movie where the good guys win and all the characters you like survive the whole movie. He and I both like those types of movies.

My father would’ve known how unrealistic the entire base of the movie was but he was good at willing suspension of disbelief and had a real love for sci-fi and magic. Had he still been alive when the movie came out in the theaters, I would’ve taken him to see it and I just know we’d spend the entire drive home discussing the what was possible and impossible about the story. Thinking of what could have been makes me smile and keeps my father forever close. Amazing what watching a movie can do!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on ““You sunk my battleship!”

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    What a great way to remember your father – thinking about how he would have enjoyed this movie. I haven’t seen it yet, but I love these kinds of films as well. They’re meant to be fun!

Say something!

