Sleeping with Dragons

Jaycie and her dragons

Jaycie and her dragons

My youngest daughter, Jaycie likes sleeping in my bed. It used to be something that only happened on stormy nights but now it happens at least once during my time with the girls. She’ll lay awake in her own bed for hours but if I ask her if she wants to sleep in my bed, she says yes, climbs right in and falls asleep fairly quickly.

I’ve asked her why she likes sleeping in my bed so much now and she’s told me it’s because it’s so comfortable. Her memory foam mattress is just as comfortable as mine so I know that’s not really the reason. I don’t expect it to last forever but I do admit that I enjoy her company and her warmth. Though sometimes the creatures she brings into the bed, like stuffed dragons, make my mattress seem much smaller than it is.

Recently she’s been sleeping with her big red stuffies dragon named Blaze. He really is quite adorable but a somewhat unexpected sight to see when I roll over in the morning. Sometimes Jaycie also brings in some of her other stuffed dragons and my bed turns into quite a nest for flying serpents. I’m not complaining really, it’s actually quite cool that both my girls love dragons as much as they do. We watched the first two seasons of Dragons: Riders of Berk over the holiday break and it’s a show we all thoroughly enjoy. The idea of riding dragons appeals to all of us but for now we’ll settle for sleeping with dragons. After all, creatures that breathe fire are bound to be a great heat source in winter!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Sleeping with Dragons

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m jealous. I miss when my kids were that little.

Say something!

