Wicked Weather and Wake-Up Calls

According to my weather app it was iglooing out...

According to my weather app it was iglooing out…

My girls are returning to school tomorrow after a nice, long two-week holiday break. We all enjoyed sleeping in later and not having to go anywhere and none of us are looking forward to getting up early tomorrow. Without the girls going to school during the week, I lost track of the days so it feels more like a month has passed instead of two weeks. We loved every minute together though!

During those two weeks, Mama Nature threw all sorts of peculiar weather at us. A rapid warm up and falling rain thawed the existing mountains of snow I was certain guaranteed a white Christmas. Thankfully, Mother Nature saw fit to return the a few inches of snow on Christmas morning and all seemed right with the world again.

Then the New Year swept in on frigid wings that dropped a foot of snow and sent temperatures plummeting into single and negative digits. 2014 obviously wanted to make a memorable entrance! I’d always hoped that really cold temperatures and tons of snow couldn’t happen at the same time because that would just be unnecessarily torturous. Those hopes are dashed almost every winter but my optimism, or delusions, remain.

Today it warmed up enough to transform the sand-like powdery snow into something much more dense. Much of it melted off of my deck and out of my driveway for which I am truly grateful! The wind is whipping outside making my wind chimes sing and I can hear the rain hitting my kitchen window. The wind is supposed to continue as the temperatures drop back into the single digits Tuesday and I admit, I’m quite tired of this wicked weather nonsense. It will be hard enough to get back into school and work routines this week without Mama Nature stirring up the weather into unpredictable chaos. Again I ask: is it spring yet?

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Wicked Weather and Wake-Up Calls

  1. mariekeates says:

    I’m with you on that. No snow where but more rain then we can handle and floods

Say something!

